1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bugs in new Philips Tubes ??? (32PW9308)

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by steefler, Sep 11, 2003.

  1. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    First, Hi !!

    I've just brought a new 32PW9308 TV set. All is perfect but I've noticed a little problem on very brigther scenes : the top of the image converge on the center (like / \). I've put a photo of the phenomene here (the walls MUST be straight) :

    http://perso.wanadoo.fr/steefler/STARW.JPG

    It's Starwars EP2 begining of chapter 5.

    Second exemple with Goldmember :

    http://perso.wanadoo.fr/steefler/GOLD.JPG


    Can you test this scene with your TV (contrast 75) set and give a feedback ?

    Thanks !!!

    :clap:
     
  2. Lux

    Lux
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had a similar problem on my old blaupunkt where the top pat of the piccie was pulled towards the right (on NTSC DVD only)
    I have no such problems (either yours or the old ones) with my new Philips 32PW8807.
    But I have the black bars.
     
  3. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have black bar too.... :(
     
  4. Lux

    Lux
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    Ratings:
    +1
    oh well, that happens. I see them but don't really care about it. it's only distracting in some scenes but the picture quality is so good that it doesn't bother me that much.
    but your other problem is very weird.
    phone customer service and they should send a technician he can fiddle around in the service menu and sort things out. if not ask for a new set.

    One question though: does that only happen in very bright scenes or in all? or is it just noticable in bright scenes?
     
  5. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it appear ONLY during very bright scenes...

    Can you test this scene (SW, Chapter 5) with your set ?
     
  6. Lux

    Lux
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK I'll try my german R2 of Starwars EP2 and my UKR2 of Goldmember.

    I assume you ahve the UKR2 goldmember (star wars should eb the same).
    just give me a few minutes, ok?
     
  7. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the french release of both.

    Thanks for testing !!! :clap:
     
  8. Lux

    Lux
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    Ratings:
    +1
    I thought that, having posted the pictures on wanadoo;)
    aynway. just testedmine and they are fine.
    seems to me your tube is not correct:
    is it the picture only or does your TV also discolour the top part of the picture?

    I have no distortion on either scene, sorry.
    I'm sure you can exchange the TV. (I bought mine at Darty-Luxembourg and that worked fine)
    HTH
     
  9. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The color on the top is only due to the photo. :p

    So my tube is messed up..... :rolleyes:
     
  10. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The setting to correct this fault is CNR on Toshiba sets and V-AMP on Panasonic sets.

    It's possible yours has a setting that (might) fix this top 1" uniform bending.
     
  11. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even if this *only* appear on brigther scenes ???? If i load a THX "target" the geometry is perfect..... I really dont know what thinking about this.... :( :( :(

    I've of course tried to fix it via the service menu but none of the options seems to correct that...
     
  12. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm sounds like a power supply problem if it happens during high contrast scenes.

    What contrast level is yours set to? Try decreasing it and see if it helps.

    I have included a pic showing this effect- uniform bending, it coould be inwards or outwards. I managed to fix our Panasonic by adjusting the relevent setting.

    [edit] usually the geometry fault effects top & bottom.. so the bottom of the picture should be slanting inwards as well.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. bodyfodder

    bodyfodder
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What DVD player do you have? Im sure there was a thread involving someone with the exact same prob but with a new sony dvd player. Check out the dvd player section of this forum.

    I think the thread is called "Sony 930 problem" i think.
     
  14. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    nathan_silly : your picture is *exactly* the pb i have on brighter scenes. It *only* affect the top of the screen. Lowering the contrast to 30 (instead of 75 witch is the default setting) solve the pb but the image is waaaaaaay unwatchable (too dark) !!!!

    My DVD player is a Philips DVD763sa (have the same pb using my PS2 as "cheap" DVD player).

    :( so what can i do ?
     
  15. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    Looks typical of sets being produced today, not enough current available from the PSU to keep the electrons steered correctly. My old Philps 36PW9607 suffered terribly for this, glad I managed to get a refund.
     
  16. PeterL

    PeterL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    As mentioned elsewhere, I will check mine this evening Steefler, but have you dared to venture at all into the service menu to see what you can find there? Probably not recommended, just a thought though.
     
  17. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, of course. As you see in the photo, the effect has been minimised by myself using service menu (it was originaly worst !!!!).
     
  18. PeterL

    PeterL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, didn't mean to sound patronising, it's just that I didn't think you had mentioned accessing the service menu.

    On that note, once you get into the service menu, how do you save and/or cancel the settings you make? Is it just by switching the TV on and off again after you have made the change or is it more involved than that? TIA
     
  19. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To save you have to activate the "store" option (by clicking "ok" or "=>" when the cursor is on it). Be carefull of what you do on this menu !!!! :)
     
  20. PeterL

    PeterL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks.

    BTW, as per my other thread, have you tried enabling (it's default is "No") the PIP/Dual Screen option in the service menu?
     
  21. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No :D

    As my TV set is already messed up I'm too scary to doing that !!! :hiya:

    If I have a replacement (for my tube pb), I will do this JUST before transporter came to pick it up !!!!! :smashin:
     
  22. PeterL

    PeterL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I've now had time to check my Star Wars II chapter 5 with this and it does exactly the same as you have said and shown on your screenshot.

    To be honest, I'm sure I wouldn't have noticed it unless you had raised it. As you said, if you turn down the contrast the vertical line gradually straightens until you get down to just under 40 and it is fine, only too dark and flat a picture! But the line is straight!

    Switching over to check it on the various picture modes I found 100Hz the best, Movie Plus and Pixel Plus the same, and the Double Line mode the worst of the four.

    I then used the THX tests from the menu on the SWII disk and made sure my contrast and brightness were set correctly etc. What I noticed when I got to the two screens where you look at the geometry for 4:3 and 16:9 was that the circle was slightly flattened not by much, but enough to notice it when you study it. On the 4:3 screen the outer box wasn't aligned straight with the edges of tube frame. On the 16:9 screen the left hand side of the outer box was chopped off.

    I'm not too worried about the problem as seen on SWII as this is only noticable if you're really studying and as has been said, only occurs on very bright scenes. It would be good though to not have the problems described above on the 4:3 and 16:9 THX tests, although in practice when actually viewing a film or tv programme I would not know about it and unless you have a very keen eye, I doubt if others would too.

    Although it is disappointing, on the whole though I am very pleased with the TV. I tried out Lord of the Rings via DVD tonight on it and the picture is absolutely fantastic.

    However, are there any more thoughts on the problem I have confirmed and also on the matter of the results from the THX 4:3 and 16:9 tests?
     
  23. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it's a bug on the whole serie...

    I'll pearhaps try to have a exchange for the 32PW9528 (wich seems to not have the pb).

    :(

    EDIT : wrong ! All 32" seems to have the pb.
     
  24. PeterL

    PeterL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Steefler - please can you try something for me...

    Go in to the Service Menu and go to the Geometry section. In the 4:3 and 16:9 sections is the option on yours to display a test pattern disabled?

    If so, how do you enable it as I would like to correct the slight geometry problems I described earlier but don't want to do it by just changing numbers and not seeing what I'm changing.

    TIA
     
  25. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In fact the test pattern doesn't work for me too !!!
    I use a pattern from a DVD (like THX optimiser in SW AOTC).

    Good luck ! :clap:
     
  26. PeterL

    PeterL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, but how can you use the Service menu and see the THX test pattern from the DVD at the same time? When I enter the service menu, it doesn't show any source, I just get a no signal fuzzy background.
     
  27. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can change source while in the service menu ;)
     
  28. steefler

    steefler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, true :smashin:

    Very usefull !
     
  29. bowenjones

    bowenjones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +434
    I have a Philips 9525 32" tv and I have exactly the same problem as you regarding that scene in Starwars.
    I too had to adjust the geometry in the service menu using a
    thx optimiser test pattern and, on the whole, i'm very happy
    with the picture.
    My tv is over 2 years old now and i would have thought that any
    problems on my set would have been ironed out on newer models
    but that's obviously not the case.
    I'd really like to know what's causing the contrast/geometry
    fault as apart from that the picture is very good.
     
  30. twarde

    twarde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Iv'e got a pw6515 or someting like that. Mines the same. i.e. ok on the THX test card but all over the place when the picture brightens up. I was led to believe that this "Picture Breating" is caused by an inadequate power supply.

    It seems that Philips is still cutting corners with component costs.

    I also have a 32 inch Ferguson widescreen TV. A cheap Thomson clone from Comet that doesn't suffer from any of these problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...