Budget stereo speakers

Discussion in 'What Speakers Should I Buy?' started by B Tank, Jul 30, 2012.

1. B Tank

B Tank

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hello everyone

I'm new to the home cinema separates area and I have just started a budget system with the Denon AVR 1312.

My bedroom is pretty small and not ideally positioned for a 5.1 system so I am just starting off with a simple stereo system.

I need speakers with a budget of £150, they need to be be bassy because at the moment I am not planning to have a subwoofer installed.

In the future my next step will be a subwoofer, or floor standing speakers but I'm not sure yet, maybe someone can advise on a small room setup. The stereo ones I'm after should do a decent job until then!

I have my eyes on the Mission MX1 at the moment, I love the look of MS Aviano 1 but I hear they aren't good on bass.

I will be doing everything with this system, mainly video games though and I love having the sound loud.

2. Rich Marshall

Rich Marshall

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +585
    Would you consider second hand?
    If so you could pick up some decent floor standers now for around £150.

3. MaturityDodger

MaturityDodger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +604
    Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 for (£90 in superfi)? Then you have £60 left over to kick-start saving towards your sub!

Or you can get the updated Diamond 10.1 for the £150 you quoted as your budget.

The 9.1s are also available bundled with a sub for £230.

4. B Tank

B Tank

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +32
    I usually consider second hand stuff but I don't want second hand speakers because I have had a bad experience with a second hand sub I bought once.

Yeah I have seen these Wharfedale Diamonds getting very good reviews, I think I will seriously consider the 10.1's, although the 9.1 are a bit too cheap I'd like to spend more close to budget.