1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

budget freeview with RF modulator needed

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by waz2004, Apr 12, 2005.

  1. waz2004

    waz2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    i am sure this has been asked before but i cannot find any reviews etc

    what i need is a good quality freeview with two scarts. It must have RF modulator (i think that is what it is called) which allows freeview programs on non-scart TV.

    Have been made redundant a while back and am in the process of cancelling NTL digital to cut costs. Looking for a decent freeview to continue receiving CBBC etc for the kids

    curry and dixons don't know left from right.

    my search has found humax f2-fox-t but it is expensive

    anyone know anything about mitsubishi BD65 from richer sounds?

    any advice and supplier appreciated

    thanks in advance
     
  2. thejudge

    thejudge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too am after a budget box with an RF modulator, i posted the same question a day or so ago and have had no replies so good luck!

    I posted a few minutes ago about the Sagem ITD64 which some sites list as having a modulator but others don't! waiting for replies to that one.

    Good luck? Looks like we need it
     
  3. JimmyGrimble

    JimmyGrimble
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    have you not got a crummy old vcr you can route the rf through?
    thats what I am doing at the mo.
    the vcr is hiding in the drawer of my telly stand cos it has a busted fascia
     
  4. waz2004

    waz2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
  5. thejudge

    thejudge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    So if i connect the STB scart to the vcr it will loop through the vcr rf output to my TV? If this is correct can you do this with a DVD player also?
     
  6. waz2004

    waz2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    jimmy - the freeview will reside in the back room and will connect to the tv through scart. for the tv in the front room i need RF connection. the other options i have is

    1. buy another cheap freeview for the front room, or
    2. buy a AV sender

    considering the cost of AV sender units it might be cheaper to go for option !
     
  7. JimmyGrimble

    JimmyGrimble
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    to the Judge : yes to both in my case - can't guarantee your setup of course.
    it will be converting not looping,
    think all brands have loop through., but not many modulate :(
    maybe borrow an stb to try?
    to Waz : is it time to buy a new telly with scarts ;)
    seen freeview boxes for £30 now so not much to lay out anyway
     
  8. waz2004

    waz2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    jimmy - original plan is to buy a good freeview. run a scart to back tv. The other tv in the front room is too far away for a scart lead therefore the need to connect it using a standard aerial cable. Then again i could go for option 1 and buy two freeviews with RF loopthrough. Any recommendations?
     
  9. JimmyGrimble

    JimmyGrimble
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    2 cheap freeviews @ £60 total =sorted.
    To have 2 boxes has got to be the way surely, so people can watch or record different programmes on at the same time. search on the forums for recommended gear -plenty at richersounds trade counters and tescos, argos etc. I only have experience of two makes.

    hope we have not got our wires crossed heh, but if your front tv has no scarts or s-videos you will only get the 5 analogue channels out of the STB via your roof aerial; loop through just passes this on after its been in and out the freeview box.
     
  10. waz2004

    waz2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    jimmy-both tv has scart. as a matter of intrest you said you have experience of two makes. which ones and your opinions please
     
  11. JimmyGrimble

    JimmyGrimble
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    pioneer dbrtf100 decent enough box cept for that distracting 3" long light that is red or green on the front. and it failed after 6 days.
    didn't want another so got a JVC one instead which is excellent now it has the latest software in it. very quick to respond to channel changing or aspect ratio changing. the 7 day EPG sometimes only has 3 or 4 days info but this may be down to the reception area or even the person typing up the info!
    vestel based but a good box. slim n stylish too. both are £70ish which don't help as you must be short of cash now redundant.
    bin there 3 times m8
    keep yer pecker up
     
  12. waz2004

    waz2004
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    thanks jimmy i will surely keep it up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...