1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Budget DVD recorder - good buy

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by waz2004, Sep 14, 2004.

1. waz2004

waz2004

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi I am a newbie here with a typical question a newbie asks - which is the best dvd recorder????

HOLD ON before you hit the back button hear the rest...

Have been recently made redundant. Plan to spent a few months chilling out. I have a stack of family movies on vhs tape. I plan to transfer then onto DVD.

My original plan was to buy a video capture card for the PC which enables me to link the VCR to the PC and transfer to DVD. However a decent board costs around £70.

While shopping at Sainsbury and looking at Richer sounds website you can purchase a DVD recorder from around £120. Are they any good for what i need?

I can then connect the VCR to the DVD recorder and record onto DVD. The DVD will then be inserted into the PC for editing.

Two models i have been looking at are Philips 610 and Liteon LVW5001B.

Anyone recommend the above or something else?

Thanks in advance.

2. Nelviticus

Nelviticus

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +68
    The Liteon is discussed in this thread on DVD Reviewer and the new owner seems pretty happy with it:

http://www.dvd.reviewer.co.uk/forums/thread.asp?Forum=211&Thread=315591&Type=1&Page=1

Someone says that it doesn't have RGB or S-Video inputs, but if you'll mainly be copying from a non-SVHS VCR that shouldn't worry you. You can always get a better machine when you get a new job!

The Philips is discussed in this other thread - they mostly talk about the difficulty of finding them, but there are several positive comments from satisfied owners:

http://www.dvd.reviewer.co.uk/forums/thread.asp?Forum=223&Thread=334763&Type=1

Have fun.

Regards

Nelviticus

3. hi-tech-geek

hi-tech-geek