1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Notice: AVForums will be offline at 10pm for no longer than 30 minutes for scheduled maintenance. Apologies for any inconvenience this causes.
    Dismiss Notice

budget DVD-A output into AV8

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by kevshed, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    perhaps some experience here could help me out.... looking for a cost effective way of enabling DVD-A in my setup.... option 1, is to replace my DV27 with a DV29.. but is an expensive option. Option 2 im considering, is to buy something like a Samsung DVD-HD945 DVD Player (which support DVD-A), run digital to my AV8... and let the processor do the decoding.

    Not expecting to aquire a massive DVD-A library.. given its support as a format, so am leaning towards option 2. (which costs £95 vs £1200 approx cost to change for option 1)

    question is.... am i likely to get half decent output from the Samsung player?Anyone tried a similar setup into an av8 ?

    Thx
    Kev
     
  2. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +394
    I guess as dvd-a has no direct digital path with Arcam you will be looking for the best quality digital to analogue conversion to be done before getting to the amp ... is that going to be achieved with a £95 player ??

    just my tuppence ...

    Jon
     
  3. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    perhaps im missing something then...

    i thought i could take a digital output from the DVD-A player... into 'any' digital input in the AV8. AV8 would then decode the bitstream, and do the D/A to the amp?

    Am i wrong?
     
  4. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    With the exception of iLink & Denon Link DVD-A (& SACD) cannot be transfered over a digital cable. You will need to connect any DVD-A player via 6 analogue phono cables to the 5.1 analogue inputs on your AV8.
    All DVD-A disks contain a DD or DTS soundtrack that can obviously be transfered over a digital link, and this track can be played on any standard DVD player.

    Why not get your DV27 upgraded to a DV27a that can play DVD-A disks. I think it will cost about £400, so not exactly cheap but will IMHO give better results than a cheap 'play anything' player.

    Mark.
     
  5. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    ok. thanks mark - makes sense - forgot about the protection.... that explains it. Maybe if santa is generous i'll treat myself.

    Thanks all for the inputs... appreciated.

    Kev
     
  6. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Or... sell your DV27 £500 say on (EBay), and buy a spanking new DV27a if they are still available for £950. DVD-A with 5 year warranty on the player too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...