Budget DAC + Amp for Jamo S803?

MartinCooper

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a newbie music enthusiast from Barcelona.

I was looking to build my first system and bought a pair of speakers Jamo S803 (80W / 160W, 8 Ohm). Which budget-friendly amp/DAC (¿integrated?) or amp + DAC (separated) would you recommend for those speakers?

I'd like to use them with my laptop, Bluetooth would be a +.

Thank you!

Does the Marantz PM6007 fit your idea of budget. It has 3 digital inputs but doesn't include USB,

If you wanted separate components I'd suggest maybe looking at Topping or Ifi for a suitable DAC

Thank you for your fast reply! Here the Marantz PM6007 cost around 470€ new and I can't find any used unit. But I could do the effort if you think it's worth it.

Would that be better than let's say an SMSL DA-9 (used 170€) + Topping E30 (used 100€)?

Thank you again!

Does the Marantz PM6007 fit your idea of budget. It has 3 digital inputs but doesn't include USB,

If you wanted separate components I'd suggest maybe looking at Topping or Ifi for a suitable DAC

Thank you for your fast reply! Here the Marantz PM6007 cost around 470€ new and I can't find any used unit. But I could do the effort if you think it's worth it.

Would that be better than let's say an SMSL DA-9 (used 170€) + Topping E30 (used 100€)?

Thank you again!
I use a Topping MX5 in my office, and I like it a lot. Very decent amplifier, which won't break a bank.

Laptops tend to only have HDMI which means you need a way to get optique or coax out (a tv can do this). There's also the headphone socket but it would have to be configured for an amplifier, I'm no expert as I don't like laptops and only use my daughters in emergencies). There are surely work arounds for which others could help you (for example USB).