BT Infinity

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by cardigan, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. cardigan

    cardigan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Clearly this post is in the wrong section but I can't find 'right' section!
    I am thinking of switching my BB, Phone and TV package from Virgin the BT(Infinity). It is the case that BT can only be supplied to one TV set in the house (I know I couldn't believe it either)! The other TV sets are receiving FreeView via aerial or dish but I'd like some more options on at least one TV (National Geographical, Shed, and the like (ideally I'd like Atlantic but I suspect that's not possible without paying SkyB). Any ideas?
    Also my TV set (Panasonic TH-42PZ81B) has an Ethernet input and a couple of HDMI inputs, If I run an Ethernet cable from the router into the back of the TV set will I be able to get TV stuff on the screen?
    TIA
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    Are you sure about BT being available on only one set?
    There must be some way of getting the currently selected programme to another, surely.
    Then you're getting Freeview by aerial, but NOT by dish as FV is terrestrial TV.
    What ARE you getting by dish and on what machine?
    Atlantic is a Sky channel.
    Catchup services may be available.
     
  3. cardigan

    cardigan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tis true, I found it difficult to believe and checked across many sources.
    Yes I can and do get FreeView via an aerial and a sat dish and for most of my viewing life there's something on there to watch (although I do seem to spend most of my viewing hours flicking through the channels). I know there's stuff out there with additional viewing options but I am not sure which has the best/most and whether I would need to get an Ethernet cable from the router to some other box. Surely this problem has been cracked by some other BT Infinity users? I could, of course, have BT on one TV and pay skyb for sky on another TV set but that seems a bit wasteful.
     
  4. neilball

    neilball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +643
    BT Vision (the BT supplied STB) is no different from any other box used to receive a TV service, it links to your main TV. You can then distribute the output from the box to other TVs in a variety of ways (with differences in picture/audio quality and price) but you are only able to view the same program in each location. The only way to watch different channels at the same time is to have multiple STBs (such as with Sky Multiscreen where each TV has a Sky box and viewing card).

    I don't see any reason why you cannot have two or more BT Vision boxes, or use Sky Now TV with an appropriate subscription if you want channels exclusive to Sky (as I assume you don't want a Sky STB and regular subscription).
     
  5. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    There is no 'multiroom' like service for BT TV they are presently limited to one box being connected to online services per connection.

    OP should visit the Freeview/YouView/BT section...
     
  6. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    Multiroom is possible and is currently being used by many.

    Two BT Vision boxes will not work together, however a BT Vision and a YouView box will. Indeed any number of YouView boxes can utilise a multiroom functionality subject to line speed, different channels too. And all for free.

    Why is this thread on a satellite board?
     
  7. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    That's not possible - Freeview is terrestrial TV obtainable only through an aerial.
    The thread is in satellite until we're quite certain about that point.
     
  8. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +1,028
  9. cardigan

    cardigan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    The first line in my first post recognises that this thread is in the wrong place . . . I couldn't find a 'right' place, specifically there is no BT area. Bye the by the point of my post and what I am hoping to achieve is . . .
    1. Knowing about all the solutions discovered by all those other BT Infinity customers who have more than one TV set.
    2. Hearing from those 'techies' about possible solutions.
     
  10. cardigan

    cardigan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    All that said, it seems that (although I can't quite believe it) that I can get sky TV for £16 a month (first 12 months) and if I do it through Cashback I get £120 (cash back) which takes it down to £6 a month for the first 12 months and £21.50 thereafter (and I think I'd also get a M&S voucher). It just seems a bit bizarre having two different TV packages from two different suppliers of two different TV sets!
     
  11. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +1,028
  12. cardigan

    cardigan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah - didn't know that was there - perhaps a moderator could move this thread?
     
  13. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    Oh and for completeness, all TalkTalk TV and BT Vision queries too. A four-in-one board if you will. :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...