BT Infinity - Part IV

Discussion in 'BT Broadband' started by Curly99, Jun 22, 2012.

  1. Curly99

    Curly99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    This thread is a continuation of the part 3 thread here:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/bt/1616874-bt-infinity-part-iii.html

    Last Post
     
  2. biohead

    biohead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +24
    I've had a quick look, and don't think I've seen this mentioned, so apologies if it has...

    Assuming you have the Echolife HG612 Openreach modem:
    The White Openreach modem is known to fail due to how hot it gets, mainly the early versions. The latest models (which ship with a white power adaptor) have a 3B on the back of them and are the most reliable version - although that could just be that they're too new to start failing yet. This is why wall mounting is very important on this Openreach modem as it will cook itself just sat on it's side. If it has cooked itself, it is permanent and irreversible bear in mind, so drop outs will not improve.

    If you have the other Openreach modem (The ECI model) then I don't think they're prone to overheating - but they're fairly rare at the minute so can't be certain.

    If Openreach have decided there's a fault in the exchange, it's best to leave them to sort that out first as it may be the cause of all your problems, and your modem itself could be fine.
     
  3. Stiff Dog TD

    Stiff Dog TD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Been following all the infinity posts with interest waiting for our switch to go live, do I/do'nt I sign up. Well its now live so have taken the plunge, we have been told to expect 63.5 down and 20 up. We are only approx 300m from the cab and recently had new pairs and a new underground cable fed to the house, having worked on the digital region scheme and knowing how that system faired I look forward to the install on the 3rd July.
     
  4. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3,024
    The homehubs seem to fail as well, mainly the Ethernet ports. Anyone who has slow speeds should try it over wireless. If the speed is significantly greater than wired then the home hub needs replacing
     
  5. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3,024
    Seems like BT are another one to start blocking piratebay
     
  6. Scholes18

    Scholes18
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Republic Of Mancunia
    Ratings:
    +419
    They haven't got a choice in the matter though... Required by the courts etc
     
  7. BigNevster25

    BigNevster25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi there,

    Need some advice,

    Had Infinity for a while and have been told by various people to get rid of the HH3, could anyone please point me in the right direction to get a decent router??

    Thanks in advance
     
  8. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    What problems are you having with the HH?
     
  9. BigNevster25

    BigNevster25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +30
    As im a online gamer I have been getting lag issues and some people have blamed it on the HH3....
     
  10. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24,550
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,946
    Mine has been fine. My ping is a lot better than my old o2 connection.
     
  11. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    What have BT said about the issue?
     
  12. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,680
    I play a fair amount of online games and haven't had issues with the HH3. Some servers give me pings lower than 15ms (sometimes touching the high single digits) which bearing in mind my ping to the HH is 4ms (powerline adapters) is crazy.
     
  13. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Seems a compete waste to spend cash on a router, when the HH may not even be faulty.
     
  14. menz83

    menz83
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +207
    Well after 5 days of issues with my new infinity install, an engineer came round this afternoon to get things sorted. I complained of continual dropouts and a sub 14Mb ip profile. The engineer done some tests and noticed that my AC line balance was currently at 40db with 55db or above being deemed acceptable. The engineer was very thorough and did tests at the cabinet and out in the street somewhere, changing the line pair or something along that lines and this improved my AC line balance to 60db! He did get everything up and running again and his equipment showed an ip profile of 20.5Mb. After some further tests, he received a text stating a profile of 19.5 but a quick bt speedtest on my laptop showed a profile of 18.88!

    The engineer was still concerned that the problem might not go away. I am 1280m from my cabinet and whilst that distance should provide some pretty good speeds, my area is covered with aluminium lines rather than copper which degrade much quicker over shorter distances. I was told that if things stabilise at 12Mb I should be happy with it as I was only achieving 5Mb with adsl. My upload speed has more than doubled to around 3.5Mb and I am fairly happy with that, but my estimates were 21.5/5.4 so it is less than what I was hoping for. Here's hoping that fttp on demand is cheap when its available next year!
     
  15. deathtrap3000

    deathtrap3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +152
    The results the engineer gets are the actual sync speeds, not the ip profile.
     
  16. menz83

    menz83
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +207
    Thanks for that, looks like im much closer to my estimate after all. Connection has been rock solid all afternoon too which is good and im currently downloading a few things at just under 2.2MB/s which is something ive never seen in my life!

    Wireless speed from the HH is a bit slow though, cant seem to connect at anything quicker than 54Mb. That will be a major pain when copying stuff from my NAS!
     
  17. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Are you connected with a Wireless N device?
     
  18. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    I thought the minimum BT had agreed to offer with Infinity was 16 or 17Mbps....
     
  19. menz83

    menz83
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +207
    Its 15Mb however if you sync lower and are willing to accept that, you can still have it according to the engineer I spoke with today. I guess if you're used to only 2Mb, anything near 15Mb would be pretty good. When I dropped below 15, they pretty much immediately agreed to send an engineer round as my speed had dropped below acceptable levels.
     
  20. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,680
    This. They eventually allowed it and it's pretty much on the basis you take whatever you're given
     
  21. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3,024
    Give it a few days and reset the modem
    The line might have settled by then.
     
  22. BigNevster25

    BigNevster25
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +30
    BT said they will turn on Interleaving??, i thought they could not do it on Infinity??
     
  23. deathtrap3000

    deathtrap3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +152
    The limit is 15mbps. If you are predicted less than the they dont initially offer it to you. The instead offer you a different service called BT Total Broadband with Fibre. Not classed as infinity but still provided in the same way. If you get less than 15mbps on an infinity install they arent meant to continue.
     
  24. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,680
    Why do they make such a fuss over differentiating them? That's what I was on and I kept just telling them it was Infinity because I was getting over 15Mb but they didn't understand. Now BT have realised I get more than 15Mb they just call it Infinity though :confused:
     
  25. Carlow

    Carlow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +317
    time to flip the coin and see weather i stay with sky or go back to BT ;)
     
  26. everett_psycho

    everett_psycho
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    8,098
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Christchurch NZ
    Ratings:
    +2,623
    Did this actually happen or have they pushed your date back like they did with most others that said the 30th June? I'm tempted to ditch sky and go to BT mainly for infinity if it ever arrives and hope they offer up a good youview bundle
     
  27. southbank72

    southbank72
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    whats the best way to check what download speeds I'm getting as I had BT infinity installed today? I have been on speedtest net which came in a whooping download 73 Mbps http://www.speedtest.net/result/2045722135.png, however broadband speed checker came in at 34Mbps , think broadband was 12 mbps , uk broadband speed test was 32 Mb , broadband watchdog was 20 Mbs ..............how can they all be so different ? i have no idea my sped , any help much appreciated
     
  28. deathtrap3000

    deathtrap3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +152
    none of them are accurate. you can check your ip profile on the bt speedtest site and that will get you a good indication of what you can expect to almost achieve. Try downloading a few things at once from a reliable source and add them together to get a figure.
     
  29. messenger

    messenger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea
    Ratings:
    +204
    Im sick of these Java/Adobe/Flash speed testers, their so inaccurate & give many people a false impression of their newly installed broadband connections.

    I guess they are the best we have without actually downloading something but as the post above says try downloading a few things at once from a reliable server & add the figures together or just fire up a Usenet reader & prepare to max out your connection.
     
  30. jwalsh82

    jwalsh82
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +353
    I have to say I am mightily impressed with BT Infinity.

    Estimated speed of 58mbps, but Speedtest.net show me at 80mbps when I go wired. My 200mbps powerline
    adapters from downstairs to upstairs, still give me between 55-60.

    My wireless is only 20mbps, but I don't have an N card.

    iPad and iPhone get's about 30mbps.

    Very happy with the speeds, service and install.
     

Share This Page

Loading...