bt infinity crap

Discussion in 'ISPs & The Internet' started by djt111, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. djt111

    djt111
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +203
    had bt for around a year now, and all has been good
    till about 2 weeks ago, when i had crackling / buzzing when making a phone call. and my line speed droped by more than 1/2.

    its taken them 10days to fix the fault. also told them about the internet speed. and they said it was due to the line fault and would go back up when fixed.

    but its still slow, and today they have said its normal 20meg is good.
    its due to more users in the area on infinity that has caused the drop in speed LMAO
    they are compelte fools :mad:
    good bye bt you have lost me as a customer :thumbsup:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. deathtrap3000

    deathtrap3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +152
    try restarting your hub and modem. should hopefully get a new faster profile.
     
  3. djt111

    djt111
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +203
    no change
     
  4. deathtrap3000

    deathtrap3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +152
    Unfortunately it can take ages for the system to start raising your speeds again after a line fault.
    It may be worth visiting the bt forums and asking a moderator to look in to it.
     
  5. djt111

    djt111
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +203
    i guess im impatient.
    they are nothing like o2. who use to sort problems out right away on the phone
    its a shame now they have sold off that part of the company to sky

    im looking to change to cable. good job im getting close to the end of 18 months
    guess you dont know how good a company is till it goes wrong!
     
  6. djt111

    djt111
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +203
    due to the line fauly, this caused my internet to drop by over 1/2
    and they have finaly done a ip profile reset and its back up

    [​IMG]

    will be changing in the next coupe of months
    3 weeks is too long to wait for a fix
     
  7. smjxm09

    smjxm09
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +81
    Unless you go with Virgin it would still have taken 3 weeks no matter who you went with as Openreach will be doing the faulting.
     
  8. djt111

    djt111
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +203
    it took 2 weeks just to get BT to book the engineer, im sure other companys will use a different tech support, unlike the braindead bt people, you get when you ring up. they havnt got a clue telling you just to restart it lol (that actually makes it worse)

    you shouldnt need one for a basic profile reset anyway
     
  9. Diskordian

    Diskordian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Exeter
    Ratings:
    +134
    If the profile has been reduced on an fttc line the only way to reset the line is with an engineer to site. Its not like normal adsl, and will not recover from a low profile, nor can it be reset remotely with an snr reset. I work for an ISP so know a not about this.

    Fttc faults are a bit a nightmare to get resolved
     
  10. deathtrap3000

    deathtrap3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +152
    Generally profiles do recover after line faults. And resets can be done remotely, although they are very reluctant to do it and want people to wait for the profile to recover automatically. If an engineer visits, they wont reset a line unless a fault is found and cleared, although the engineer can do it themselves if they wanted/know how to.
    I find fttc faults much easier to resolve than adsl faults.
     

Share This Page

Loading...