BT Customers

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by akane_1984, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. akane_1984

    akane_1984
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +168
    Hi I was down at my cousins boxing day and he has a wired BT ADSL. . I am not sure how to get 360 on live with his current setup, could anyone give me some advice I could pass onto him and my Uncle.

    what equipment he needs. .
    how to set it up . .

    thanks.
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    22,646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +3,349
    Probably the easiest way is to replace his ADSL modem with a ADSL Modem/Router into which you plug the Xbox 360 (and the PC). Both can then access the internet (and thus Xbox Live) and the 360 will be able to stream from the PC (if running MCE/Vista).
     
  3. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +1,653
    His bt modem will probably only have one ethernet port in it but should also have a USB port in it.
    Conncet the pc to the modem using a usb cable and connect the 360 to the modem using an ethernet cable and you will be good to go.
     
  4. akane_1984

    akane_1984
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +168
    thanks for quick replies yeah he only has one ethernet port and yes one usb I had thought to suggest that too him but have no knowledge on ADSL hardware always been a cable modem person. I'll suggest either a replacement from BT modem/router or he can just switch cables.
     
  5. ShadowmanUK

    ShadowmanUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +132
    Hi,

    Have a look on my site for setup info/diagrams
     
  6. GaryMo

    GaryMo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Manchester
    Ratings:
    +280
    Would that work, especially if he wanted to use his PC's internet connection and Xbox Live at the same time? Surely a router would be the only option? if thats the case?
    Will he connect his Xbox up via wireless or will he use a wired connection?
     
  7. akane_1984

    akane_1984
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +168
    he doesn't mind xbox is only two rooms away, he has an extension lead for ethernet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...