1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BT Caller Display - Free!!

Discussion in 'Shopping, Deals, Discounts & Bargains' started by Crocodile, Jul 3, 2005.

  1. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,664
    BT have launched a free service called Privacy at Home. This includes registration on the Telephone Preference Service & FREE Caller Display (currently charged at £1.75/month). Sign up here. If you're currently paying for the service you need to cancel that first.

    Credit to Hornet at DVD Forums. :smashin:
     
  2. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers for that. saved me £4.50/qtr and stopped as few junk calls. :smashin:
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,023
    Is anyone who's tried it able to confirm, one way or the other, that you can still send and receive SMS (text) when Caller Display is provided via this method?
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well i am TPS registered but have a caller ID phone so this is great!!!
    Would not pay for caller ID as it doesnt cost BT anything and mobiles already do it
     
  5. Timmy C

    Timmy C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +206
    Does anyone know if this will display mobile numbers or just other BT landline numbers?
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    should be all numbers mate
     
  7. rozzar

    rozzar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +23
    it won't display
    x-directory numbers
    numbers from other operators- NTL etc
    or numbers where people have dialed the 141 prefix to block caller ID
     
  8. chrismox

    chrismox
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Nuts, I signed up for this today at full price!
     
  9. ancientgeek

    ancientgeek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks to me as if it shows callerID for BT callers only. There's enough mobile and other callers that it won't replace the paid service.

    I noticed today that they had slid in a charge in for dialling 1471 3 which wasn't there originally.

    If BT et al ran your PC, they'd be boasting about 500 free mouse clicks a month.
     
  10. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,664
    Ancientgeek & Rozzar
    The paid service has the same disclaimers yet works fine with other networks & mobiles. I guess BT are only guaranteeing the service on their own network.

    Chrismox
    Just cancel & sign up for the free one.
     
  11. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    can confirm that it works fine with incoming mobile numbers (certainly all the ones that have called us since I signed up last week).
     
  12. Timmy C

    Timmy C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +206
    Mobiles are coming up fine on mine too. The only number that hasn't been displayed so far was a call from Singapore but that's to be expected anyway.
     
  13. chrismox

    chrismox
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    All very strange here - I cancelled BT's pay caller display service and signed up to their free one and now certain numbers don't show up.

    Even stranger, there seems to be no reason to it. My mobile (vodafone) shows up, my girlfriend's (also vodafone) doesn't.

    Bizarre indeed!
     
  14. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Has she got outgoing caller display enabled on her mobile?? I.e. if she calls your mobile does it show up??
     
  15. Dominic

    Dominic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    :lesson:

    Caller display or CLI on the home phone will only work if the calling party actually send you the CLI. So this is why some numbers work and some dont, you will find some companies will have a CLI of their main number regardless of the extension calling you. In short there isnt anything you can do about it, but if you have Caller Display you will see all CLI presented to your phone line, providing you phone has a screen :smashin:, and the network it comes across doenst strip off the CLI. I guess this why BT will gaurentee it on their own network.


    Dom
    (BT IP services)
     
  16. john249

    john249
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When paying for it and then canceling your paid subscription to re-register for the free one sounds a bit odd.

    If they are both supplied by BT then BT should automatically cancel the paid subscriptions unless they are trying to get more money out of their customers.

     
  17. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    SMS works as before...
     
  18. RohanM

    RohanM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    As long as your phone device (mobile/landline/office PBX) sends the CLI (Caller Line Identity - the telephone number dialling out), and any network that the call passes through doesn't strip it out, the telephone number should be presented. BT are effectively saying that they don't strip out the CLI on their network, hence the BT network-only guarantee.

    Most - if not all - major UK networks pass through the CLI. This isn't always the case with international calls (although mobile networks seem to do it).
     
  19. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,023
    Thanks for the info.
     
  20. steve36

    steve36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Superb, 24hours and it works.

    I was getting a bit worried when my phone did not work this morning but I suppose that was the lightning.

    Thanks for the info.

    Steve.
     
  21. steve36

    steve36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    928
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    One warning, according to the T&C's 'You will no longer pay for Caller Display if you continue to make some calls with BT.

    I nearly missed that.
    I changed my Tiscali package to Broadband 1Mb, 2Gb limit with free local/national calls 24x7 for £20 a month last month. It seems very good value, so far.

    BT & Tiscali's fees for calls to mobile phones seem to be virtually the same so I'll change one of my speed-dials to prefix 1280 and use BT.

    Steve.
     
  22. CDphobe

    CDphobe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,054
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +75
    Just keep a close eye on any package changes that they put through. I was with Tiscali when they were running dial-up and they unilaterally changed the terms, overcharged me against their new terms, and then sent the "debt" to a credit agency despite it being their fault. Never again...

    Al
     

Share This Page

Loading...