BT Broadband speed problem!, Any Help?

BIGJ99

Established Member
Reaction score
I am new to AV forums and this is my first post.

Right where do i start,
I am on BT broadband option 3 "Unlimited" and have been for the past 2 years without many problems, but a couple of weeks ago my speed just suddenly dropped overnight and its driving me round the bend trying to figure out why?

Before the speed dropped i was getting, on average, 5000-5500kbps, 6500kbps at my highest peak. Then suddenly, overnight, it has dropped to less than 500kbps (down) and 250kbps (up), which is really annoying as im a PS3 online gamer.

After checking all internal wiring, hub manager settings, firewall settings etc, i thought it might have been a problem with my HomeHub as i have had it for about 2 years. So i ordered the new HomeHub v2.0 ( the black one ), set it up, all working fine, no connection dropouts BUT the Speed still isn't there.
I have run numerous speed tests and they all come up with the same thing........around 500kbps.
My Main PC i connected through ethernet so shouldn't have many problems there, i just cant think of what might be wrong, unless its something wrong at the exchange, which is less than half a mile away.

Anyway i thought i would ask for help on here and get some intelligent answers first, before i ring the indian call center...

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Have You tried www.speedtester.bt.com You need to try it normally, then plug the HH into the Test Socket of your Master Socket, Reboot the HH and try again.

What results do you get?

Last edited:
I am on Option 3 as well as am suffering the same effects, not to the same degree but it is still a big drop off. Daytime I used to get 5-7 Meg and about 2-3 at night. Now its 2-3 during the day and 1.5 at best after 5pm. I have a Hub 2.0 and have also tried my old Hub 1.0 and its still the same. I don't download a lot and I work Offshore so I am not here half the time anyway !!