1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bryston SP1.7 EPROM

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by AV Geeza, May 10, 2004.

  1. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    Have any SP1.7 owners updated their software to 44A or 44D EPROM?
    If so, where does the firmware chip go?
    I have replaced my old 41A with the new 44D but for the life of me I can't see where the extra chip goes?? :confused:

    Help!! :lease:

    BTW, I will also e-mail Bryston, but would appreciate any thoughts from other owners.

    TIA
     
  2. bamber

    bamber
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It has been a long time now but the other one goes on the board just behind the front panel. Wait for the instructions from Bryston as if it goes wrong you will have to send it back to PMC.

    Did you have to pay for the 44D firmware as this has recently been discussed on audiocircle?

    Gaz
     
  3. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks gaz. :smashin:

    I didnt pay for 44D, its a long story but James Tanner sorted it out for me.
    James has said on Audiocircle that if you had already purchased say 44A that you would get further updates in the 44 series for free, I think!

    Its strange that I have had 44A & 44D but no instructions sent! :confused:
     
  4. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    Got an e-mail from Bryston with the instructions but they do not cover the firmware chip, only the EPROM.
    Bryston engineer gave me pin point directions though, so I have now replaced the chip but it sure is fiddly!!

    Processor has had a lease of new life with the updates :smashin:

    Now to watch some movies! :D
     
  5. bamber

    bamber
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Totally agree with you. They are meant to supply a chip extraction tool and instructions, but I didn't get these either. :confused:

    Thank goodness they are going to change this to a download software update in the next hardware upgrade.:clap:
     
  6. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    is there anything solid on what and when the hardware upgrade will be?

    ad
     
  7. bamber

    bamber
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Buns,

    Nothing solid at all yet, looks like it is over a year away according to James. They are only starting to design it, so nothing new except the details on audiocircle.

    Would you consider a Bryston processor again in the furture Ad?
     
  8. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I sure would consider one..... in fact I looked into it just recently but decided against because of all things, the price has actually gone up! The only reason I left bryston in the first place was financial, I spent more than I had basically! I will probably look seriously into another processor towards the end of Q3 this year...... unfortunately I am a bit put off by the upgrades situation.... I wouldnt be happy spending big bucks knowing an upgrade was planned

    anyhow, im sure you will see more of my processor antic later in the year (assuming I cant get some form of trade at the mo of course! ;))

    all the best

    Ad
     
  9. jethro

    jethro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's kind of a minor pet peeve of mine that Bryston doesn't include or post a set of release notes for each upgrade (except for 44A), including the minor updates. I have 44A, and now I'm wondering what the difference is between 44A and 44D.

    AV Geeza (or anybody),

    Have you noticed any major differences between 44A and 44D ?

    Thanks.
     
  10. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    jethro,
    I really don't know what the differences are, but the web site may have details soon as 44D has only just been completed and shipped.
    I believe that I am on of the first to get it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...