im new to the av receiver and dont know much

Last edited:
as my old lg surround sound speakers are 4 ohms

and the receiver is 8ohms i need the lot

5.1 surround dont really want to pay over £200

is that asking to much ??

im new to the av receiver and dont know much

Ok this (for me) poses a few questions.

How big is the room they will be going in to?

Will it be for just for films or music as well?

Do you have to have them all at once or can you spread it over a couple of pay packets?

I ask this because you asked about subs on another thread, and for £200, a 5.1 speaker set usually comes with a sub and satilite speakers which sound ok, but you probably may want to upgrade after a while.
Above that and you can get a decent set of fronts with matching center 1 month and rears the next month. The rears do not have to be same make as fronts or cost as much as they are only really used for the whooshing sound effects, IMO. You may have to wait a little while for it to be completed which i know you dont want, but i bet you a kings ransom you will be happier with the end results.
If you are willing to look at secondhand speakers, you could get some excellent speakers, Floorstander and/or Bookshelfs, and could possibly get them all at once.

Last edited:
the room is 24ft buy 18ft

it will be for watching sky hd and blu ray movies

im not bothered if i can only get the front and subwoofer first of all

to me its all about the look of the speakers and if there wall montable

i didnt post that i needed a sub but after looking at the str dh800 manual its a 8ohms

then i looked at my lg ht903 speakers and they say 4 ohms so thought dame it i need the speakers as well

any advice is welcomed mate

ive got 2 logik speakers would they be ok to use for the time being as there 8ohms

thank you

regards darren

Q acoustics do a good range of bookshelf, surround and floor standers all with speaker stands and/or wall mounts too :)