Broken Wiimote!!! NO - NOT ON XMAS EVE!!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii-U & 3DS' started by Dave1979, Dec 25, 2006.

  1. Dave1979

    Dave1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Playing rayman and my wiimote (the one that came with the wii) has stopped working!!! It is fine on with pointing and clicking but on the games where you have to shake the wiimote like the music games and the running games shaking the wiimote has no effect!! I assume the accelerometor (sic) has broken!?!?!? BAWS!! Hopefully Gamestation will do a straight swap for a new wiimote on Boxing Day
     
  2. DeanTheDon

    DeanTheDon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +45
    Unlucky mate. Glad I've got 2 incase one screws up!
     
  3. CFCCFC

    CFCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yeah me too...and on Rayman...kind of wondering if the Wiimote can stand up to it. Pity I bought mine from Currys online - rather than wrestle with them I'm going to get in touch with Nintendo for a replacement.

    Luckily I had the spare - but now I'm neurotic in case that one dies too. No more Rayman for me at the moment!
     
  4. SHPanda

    SHPanda
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    No need, you can take back faulty goods to your local Curry's store. It would be quicker and easier to go down to your local one on boxing day and explain the situation and ask for a replacement Wii-mote. When we got our HDTV the remote didn't work, we just went in and told them and they gave us a spare remote and quite obviously they don't just have those lying around it was either from the store's TV that they have set up or it was from another brand new boxed TV. So they should replace the wii-mote with a separate one no problems. Or if you don't want to try that you could go to Curry's or infact pretty much any electronics/games shop on boxing day buy a new Wii-mote swap it for your broken one and tell them it was broken when you got it and ask for a refund.
     
  5. shagaboopon

    shagaboopon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +367
    The problem may not be whether the store can pull strings for you but actually do they have any stock to help. A lot of Currys stores are still struggling for stock at the moment.
     
  6. makey

    makey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    same here remote sensor not working all buttons work and can move hand about screen but when trying to swing or throw nothing other one works fine
    gutted aswell
     
  7. Andyduz

    Andyduz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +22
    Hi, same thing just happened to me with Rayman and I managed to screw up 2 controllers!! Luckily, unplugged console from wall socket, plugged it back in, synced controls and they both work again. Give this a try if you haven't already. Not sure whether to try Rayman again.
     
  8. Dave1979

    Dave1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    It was the Rayman running game - I was shaking the wiimote and the nunchuk up and down like a madman. Though they would have stress tested them to account for this kind of play. Re-synching it does not work for me!!
     
  9. dapex

    dapex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    bugger, i was tempted with rayman but this has put me off slightly:mad:
     
  10. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +850
    My remotes work fine after a morning on rayman. Go for it dapax.
     
  11. simms

    simms
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've heard that giving your remote a slight knock can make help unstick the accelerometor. I'm not saying you should knock it against a solid object but try knocking against your leg or something. Maybe worth a try.
     
  12. makey

    makey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    i gave mine a bang against my leg now its working fine
    thanks simms for advice
    was about to trail kids out to shops tomorrow for replacement
    only downside its now not today will have to wait till tomorrow for some 2 player action
     
  13. IanW1977

    IanW1977
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +484
    Our Wii Nunchuck broke on Thursday night - No replacements availble till next year now:mad:
     
  14. CFCCFC

    CFCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    thanks for the tips guys - I think we'll give a try to switching off and resynching, give it a bang, if that doesn't work I'll give Currys a call and see if they actually have any in stock.

    And if not I might try the evil plan of buying one (if I can find one) then replacing it for a refund :)
     
  15. Andyduz

    Andyduz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +22
    Dapex, just tried Rayman again and it works fine now. Give it a go.
     
  16. little eagle

    little eagle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had same problem - wiimote moves cursor, buttons are working but i cant swing in a game. Reseted unit, baneg controller in my leg - everything ok. I think that it is not about reseting becouse i did that before.

    THanks again.

    gretings, Nenad
     
  17. littlesheepy

    littlesheepy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5,706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +605
    Have you tried changing your Wii to running at 60hz for Rayman. I was having the same problem (the hitting the radios game drove me nuts!) and apparently with Rayman, even tho it says on the box 50/60, it needs to be set at 60 for the running/shaking games to work. Mine worked like a dream when i changed it! Worth a go if you haven't :smashin:
     
  18. shed

    shed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yeah, same for me. I couldn't complete the radios game for love nor money until I changed it to 60Hz. So if it's only Rayman that it stops working on, it could well be the game and not the wiimote that's faulty.
     

Share This Page

Loading...