1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Broken sorbothane foot - can I open DAC to tighten?

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Triggaaar, Apr 18, 2005.

  1. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    I've bought a DAC 20, and one of the feet are loose, and split at the base. I would like to remove the foot, fix it (or replace if I could get another) open the DAC up, and then screw it back on.

    Is this a good idea, or should I avoid opening the box, and glue the foot to the base?

    Thanks
     
  2. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    If its new why don't you just get the supplier to fix it? If its out of warrenty and your not afraid of using a screwdriver/torx driver and can get a new foot (whilst stocks last!), I doubt it is to taxing a thing to do.
     
  3. Spen69

    Spen69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Morning Triggar

    It's not a complicated task, as long as you have the small torque sockets to fit. I swapped the feet on my 60P to match the Audiolab faceplate I had put onto it (I needed the Tag 60P facia to match my system for my active cross-overs - a little excessive, but my dad ended up with a new 60P with an 8000M faceplate to match his Audiolab system!). :thumbsup:

    Regards - Spencer
     
  4. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    This should be fairly simple. Just be sure you have same type foot as original ones. Firsat check if IAG can still supply them.

    On the other hand if you already have it open you can put any feet under.
    Big choice you have, as Yoda would say.
     
  5. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    How about a set of those oak cones at £700 a set :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
     
  6. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bet you can get them for 675 :devil:
     
  7. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I'd rather use beer mats and getting them is obviously much more fun! ;)
     
  8. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    Thank you people :thumbsup:

    It's out of warrantee, and I'm not afraid of opening it up, I just thought I'd check it wasn't a monumentally stupid idea before I did it.

    Does anyone know which size torx driver I need?

    And what's the best way of trying to get a new foot (which numer should I call, or address should I email)?

    Thanks
     
  9. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +165
    Torx T10 if i remember correctly :confused:
     
  10. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    yep I'd say TX10 as well.......
    I'd try the helpdesk number for the spare part?
     
  11. dynamic turtle

    dynamic turtle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +17
    Trigaaar,

    I have exactly the same problem with my DAC20! TBH, I can't be bothered opening it up or sending it to IAG for 8 months to get fixed. Just plonked a big valve amp on it instead. Certainly stopped it from moving around!!

    DT
     
  12. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    I certainly won't send it off for a damaged foot. The helpdesk closes at 1, so I'll try again tomorrow. Otherwise I'll diy fix the foot. Just got to order a T10 from ebay. £2 inc p&p, or do I get a set for other equipment (only have a T6 at present).
     
  13. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +165
    Try Halfords or better still Maplins do a set T6 T8 And T10 quite cheap as well :thumbsup:
     
  14. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    IAG can supply them £6.13 each, £10 min charge, inc postage.

    Is the foot broken, or just loose? If broken, I can order you one to avoid the min charge if you like.
     
  15. dynamic turtle

    dynamic turtle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +17
    Better order one for me, just in case it turns out to be broken.

    I'll PM you with my details later etc. Thanks for the offer Triggaaar
     
  16. Inotrope

    Inotrope
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +39
    Hang on; when you've opened the unit. Don't you still have to lift up the motherboard to access the screws heads to tighten? I recently had the sorbothane feet on one of my bits of kit replaced during an upgrade (cost about £20 or so).

    So I'm not sure if it is THAT simple!
     
  17. asha_bristol

    asha_bristol
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had some loose feet too. Difficult to get to as underneath the main board. Decided to superglue them all in place and now their all fine and not going anywhere. I only used a little glue so if I ever needed to get them off or free them for any reason then I would still be able to do so. Easy and effective.
     
  18. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,010
    Plastic feet are just over £10, rubber are less than £2, but it's £10 min order (inc p&p).

    But if taking the motherboard out is a pain/risk, maybe I should glue it on?

    Anyone know how I get to the screw (if I have to take the motherboard out) and if it's tricky?
     
  19. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    If you glued it I personally wouldn't want the original loose foot screw inside the unit. The only unit that is a complete pain to strip down is the DVD32R, all others just require competent use of a T10 torque driver and basic anti-static procedure (wear a wrist strap).

    Nice to keep units as factory standard expecially if you ever plan to sell it at some time in the future.

    PS. If the original screw is showing you can normally attach the new foot by holding the screw with a thin pair of long nose pliers as you screw the foot on. Once the screw thread and foot have gained a connection then pull down gently on the foot as you screw it up tight. This is to minimise the screw spinning around as you tighten it up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...