Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Broken Sky+ Box - Cheapest way to replace?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by ParmMann, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. ParmMann

    ParmMann
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    Hi all,

    I've had Sky+ with Multiroom since the start of the year, all has been going well until now.

    The Sky+ box is in the main TV room, and then connected to a booster in the loft which outputs to my bedroom and the gym.

    The Sky box on multiroom is connected to a different booster in the loft which outputs to sitting rooms, conversatory, kitchen and second bedroom.


    The Sky+ box was working fine in my bedroom, but I recently purchased a pair of Sennheiser TV Headphones, they're great for watching TV in bed. However, when listening to the sound on my headphones, I could hear a noticable pulsing of static. Something I hadn't noticed whilst listening on TV speakers.
    I thought it might have been the headphones, but when I tried the TV speakers, I went up close and having known what I was listening for, I could hear it again.
    It got to the point where I couldn't watch TV in the bedroom cause all I could focus on was that annoying sound.
    The sound is perfect downstairs on the main TV.

    Anyhow, I decided I'd take a look at the connections, everything seemed fine upstairs, everything seemed fine in the loft. Went to check the RF-Out's on the Sky+ box, and one of them wouldn't come off, it was stuck.
    I pulled a little too hard, took the cable out, the adapter on the end of it, and unfortunately the little bit inside the connector on the Sky+ box came out too. :oops:

    I put it back together as best I could, and I am still able to watch TV upstairs, but I can no longer change channels using the spare Sky+ remote on the TV Link. It's odd though, cause the little red light on the TV link is still working.

    I think I'm gonna end up needing to replace the Sky+ box - any ideas where I should be looking?

    Thanks,
    Parm
     
  2. Rian1988

    Rian1988
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +28
    the same happenned to my 6 year old pace 2200, the whole rf2 thing came out along with bits of the inside, i give sky a fone, they sent out an engeneer i didn;t pay anythin, the engineer looked at it and replaced it with a brand new pace ds430n!
     
  3. ParmMann

    ParmMann
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    *goes searching for Sky's number*

    Did you pay extra for the warranty package thing though?
     
  4. ParmMann

    ParmMann
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    ok, Sky are sending someone out tomorrow to take a look.

    I just had a worrying thought though - if the Sky+ box needs to be replaced, what will happen to my recordings? :O

    I'm currently recording The Shield and Lost using series link and haven't managed to watch them yet, I'd hate to lose them all!
     
  5. jshaw_82

    jshaw_82
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +3
    When my Sky+ Box knackered (18 months) i had to pay a £65 service call, for the sky installer (they are not engineers) to instant replacement refurb, as it happens the refurb HDD was clunking, so i called him and next day got a new one.
     
  6. ParmMann

    ParmMann
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    Sky Engineers (if you can call them that) have been and gone.

    They've replaced my broken Pace box with a so far working Amstrad box.

    I have however lost all my Sky+ recordings :suicide:
    The Shield and Lost all gone :rolleyes:
     
  7. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    You could have got your SKY+ box repaired by a local repairer for twenty - thirty quid. Spare parts are available for all Pace Digiboxes and replacing the modulator frame is tedious but not difficult (so they tell me).
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice