Broken on/off switch Pioneer CD player

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Jambutty1, Sep 5, 2012.

  1. Jambutty1

    Jambutty1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, if anyone can help: I have an old (but trusty) Pioneer separates system, which still functions well - apart from the tape player (which expired due to over-use - ah, the days before children!) and the CD player, which started turning itself off, then back on, sporadically - except that now it is off altogether, and refuses to come back on. While it was just playing up I opened it up to see if it was just a loose wire, but it definitely seemed to be the on/off switch, because waggling it triggered something to turn it back on (but not off, strangely). It is a push-button switch, sitting on a circuit board, but the switch itself seems to be 1 piece, or I'd have had it apart already... Is there a generic switch I can replace it with, or does each manufacturer have idiosyncracies design to make it harder to do so? I don't want to take it the local repairer, pay the £50 deposit, and have him put it in a cupboard before telling me he can't repair it. Any thoughts?

    Jambutty1
     
  2. bow79

    bow79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +81
    is there an auxiliary input on this system probably 2 phonos at the back. plug an alternative CD player into it.
     
  3. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,220
    Post a close-up pic of the switch together with any markings on it. There's a reasonable chance it can be replaced.
     
  4. Jambutty1

    Jambutty1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks guys, here are 2 pics of the switch. I took it apart to see if I could clean it up/re-tool it, and got it working again... but then it cut out. On the picture of the copper rocker, the little blob on the end is a dab of solder I put on the contact, in case there was a gap - there was a small amount of blacking on the contact, but it was not pitted or anything to suggest arcing. It doesn't work at all now...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,220
    Can't read the marking printed/stamped on it but Googling them should give some results. Can't help further without seeing the pin locations of where it mounts on the PCB.

    Edit
    is it like this?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Jambutty1

    Jambutty1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately the darned thing is soldered on; if it was on pins I'd have been fairly confident about replacing it. Is this more legible?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,220
    Not getting anything from those markings. The PCB is going to have to come out (as it will anyway to replace the switch). If it is as I pictured then you can have that one if you PM your address, just need to find someone to fit it.

    You could also try Googling for a service manual with a parts list.
     
  8. Jambutty1

    Jambutty1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Crocodile, I did PM you, did you get it? I have had no joy trying to locate a switch that looks remotely like the one that doesn't work, any help gratefully received.
     
  9. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,220
    My apologies, I completely forgot. :blush:

    I'll get it posted tomorrow at the latest.
     
  10. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,220
    Posted this morning.
     
  11. Jambutty1

    Jambutty1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Crocodile, and many thanks for your help, much appreciated.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice