1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

broardband?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by hanxslf, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. hanxslf

    hanxslf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    hi
    i'm looking to change to broardband,to hook up to my laptop running windows xp it's about 18 months old. i have allready tried aol without success,it would kick me straight back off as soon as you connect.so after about 8 hours trying and countless calls to the service provider it went back under the cooling off period,can any one piont me to a isp review online to compare prices? i have checked and can get b/bnd up to 2mb conection.

    i'm looking at a price range of similar to my aol. dial up £15.99 month
    a 2gb download limit would be acceptable to me.

    i was thinking of trying toucan 1mb b/band at £15.99 2gb limit anybody got it or tried it? :lease:
     
  2. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
  3. phunkey_monkeh

    phunkey_monkeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plusnet
    2mb for £14.99 and no limits.
     
  4. neilios

    neilios
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6,944
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +2,512
    Can you not get blueyonder cable
     
  5. hanxslf

    hanxslf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    neilios,
    cable hasn't got here yet out in the sticks
    going to click on a few links that have been provided and see what is up for grabs :confused:
    had a quick look and fredom 2 surf & plus-net seem to be the cheaper best performers. but looks like i will have to provide a adsl modem. are these cheap? should i go for one of those wireless ones, or a wired one.what are the pros & cons on these.
     
  6. phunkey_monkeh

    phunkey_monkeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive been with plusnet for well over a year. Thumbs up from me. Great service.
    Id either go for a PCI ADSL card, or if you can stretch to it, an external ethernet router/modem.
     
  7. hanxslf

    hanxslf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    well i think i will have a look in pc world to see what is on offer modem wise, then maybe buy on line (cheaper). my notebook is currently running a pcmcia modem as the internal one packed up. i would prefer a wireless one so i can take this to the printer without having to hook up again in another room,or bringing the printer to it
    :thumbsup:
     
  8. jaymz

    jaymz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunny Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +60
  9. hanxslf

    hanxslf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    looks like its down to two isp providers for me
    plusnet
    toucan
    anyone tried toucan?
     
  10. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    With regards to modem, go for an ADSL router. Take a look on ebuyer.com for Linksys or Netgear ones, you might be able to get a package with the router and PCMCIA card.

    Cheapest you'll get one for is about 60GBP including PCMCIA card (Ebuyers own). I've got one of these but it's a bit fiddly to install. If you're not technically minded, go for something else.

    Richie.
     
  11. JackOTrades

    JackOTrades
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't use them myself but got hold of a flyer from Bulldog (Cable and Wireless brand) here in London. not sure if it is available where you are. It is launching a 8Mb adsl service for 30 pounds per month (17.50 for the first six months, and the first month is free).

    Not sure what sort of service you get with them but if you are a gamer and use the net for multiplayer games, this might be a good offer (if it is available where you live).

    I personally use a 2Mb line from Broadsurf. Generally happy with the line, the customer service is good most of the time, but it is not the cheaper 2Mb line around.

    Cheers,
    Jack
     
  12. hanxslf

    hanxslf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    cheers for all your replys
    i think i will go for toucan, it turns out they supply a usb modem, and best of all they currently have a free phone help line, even aohell have started to charge for this now
    hope it all goes well with the set-up.
    as for the wireless conection, would it be cheaper to get a wireless print server? for my printer.
     
  13. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    They're not 'launching a service' it's been available for a fair while now (they previously did 4 meg). The customer service is notoriously bad but the product itself is excellent. The price you quoted covers a phone line as well. I get download speeds of around 850 k/b sec and it's uncapped :clap:
     
  14. JackOTrades

    JackOTrades
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see... I was given a leaflet recently and as they seemed to be going through a big marketing push I thought they were launching it. Thanks for clarifying that.

    850Kb/s transfer rates is a heck of a fast rate! :eek:
    I get around 200Kb/s where I am with the 2Mb line, depending on the sites it can get a bit faster (or slower). And I thought that was really fast... :rolleyes:

    Cheers,
    Jack
     
  15. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Wasn't that long ago I was on dial-up. I was on 2 meg before and it was plenty fast, the only real usefulness of going that fast for me is the high def downloads which clock in at 12GB+

    Soon 8 meg will seem slow:

    http://www.bethere.co.uk/
     

Share This Page

Loading...