1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Broadband speed!

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by GreyTruth, Nov 3, 2002.

  1. GreyTruth

    GreyTruth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got broadband! It's amazing to be able to download a large film trailor in minutes and watch in a large box! I have been getting download speeds of 50-65 kbs per sec, is this the fastest it can get? Cheers
     
  2. Jonny1973

    Jonny1973
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    usually get 57Kb/sec.

    That is as fast as 512Kbps ADSL gets!!!

    The trailers from Apple Quicktime Movie Trailers are very cool but don't expect dvd quality streaming.
     
  3. GreyTruth

    GreyTruth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Checked the quicktime site out for trailers, I thought the quality was very good!!?
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    An interesting site for speed freak downloaders, here Check your download speed, we could have a contest, see whose is the fastest.... Alternatively we could all get a life! What flavour is your broadband, BT or Cable? I'm NTL, now have 1mbit, but I share with the neighbours, we have a little street network here. Dont come here with your wireless portable though, it's cabled.
     
  5. Glasswalker

    Glasswalker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Text Block Size 5000 KB

    Download Time 39971 ms
    Receive Buffer Default
    Transmission Speed 1001 Kb/s
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Best I can do at the moment is 981kbit. My neighbour must be surfing for pictures of Brad Pitt again, and who can blame her, though personally I prefer his wife. You must be a 1mbit cable man?
     
  7. Glasswalker

    Glasswalker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    2mb leased line. Our firewall slows things down a bit and also the 80 or so other users. I wish it was all to myself but it's not.
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I get the geneal picture. There's only 3 other households on our 1mbit, and only 1 is a 'regular' net user, to feed her fantasies, in a harmless way. We have 4 pc's, and my son is into something called neopets ,always on it. That absorbs a bit of my bandwidth (no pun intended!). I guess 80 users absorb quite a bit too, especially at lunchtime!
     
  9. GreyTruth

    GreyTruth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm with good old fashioned Telewest 512k! Just me though!!
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes, but how fast does it really go, mister?
     
  11. GreyTruth

    GreyTruth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fast enough for me!!
     
  12. RL123

    RL123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    Text Block Size 500 KB

    Download Time 7310 ms
    Receive Buffer Default
    Transmission Speed 547 Kb/s


    I'm on Telewest 512k too :)
     
  13. craigizmo2k2

    craigizmo2k2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Text Block Size 500 KB

    Download Time 37130 ms
    Receive Buffer Not available
    Transmission Speed 108 Kb/s

    :(

    Not bad for 128k on ntlworld though i suppose
     
  14. dave48

    dave48
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +2
    I can get a steady 100KB per second on my 768 kbps DSL line (on a good day). For 15 Euros a month more it is possible to double this - but can't think what I would do with the extra bandwidth.

    Dave48
     
  15. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    MAW,

    I too have a Neopets addict. The bandwidth doesn't bother me so much as the ads which come in its wake.
     
  16. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    ZA pro means we don't really see them, but then privacy settings that high mean I have to fiddle with them to see this!
     
  17. RimBlock

    RimBlock
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +15
    512kb/s = 62 -> 65K/s average for me.

    Upgraded to a 1Mbit line and get 120K/s (give or take a bit).

    After a couple of months I am now going back to the 512Kb line as I am not using the bandwidth and paying £130/month for the privilage.

    1Mbit was fun to start with and downloading all those MS service packs (XP & Win2K) was very fast but I just cant justify the cost for my usage of the bandwidth.

    Oh and the ADSL is over a BT line (BT is not my ISP..... I am not that stupid.)

    Cheers
    Si
     

Share This Page

Loading...