Broadband has stopped working.

Discussion in 'Sky Broadband' started by sevenxl77, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. sevenxl77

    sevenxl77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +632
    My broadband stopped working this morning. I called sky this morning and went through a series of tests. They first thought it was a faulty micro-filter, we replaced but this did not fix the problem.
    When I phoned back they asked if I still had the broadband installation cd as I would need to reinstall to get the correct router settings. They are going to send a new cd as I havnt got the original.
    Is this right!? Will the cd fix my issue?
    For info - the router lights are green and flashing between (both) the power and the tick/test and the @/internet light.
     
  2. maf1970

    maf1970
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,054
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +294
    If the @ light is flashing on your router then it means there is something wrong with the BB connection.

    Switch router off and switch off power supply. Leave for 10 mins then switch back on. If the @ light is still flashing then it is a connection problem and Sky need to investigate further.(See below as well)
    Other things to try are replacing the ADSL cable.
    Do you or any of your friends have a old router handy?(not including BT Homehub)
    If so try connecting it up and see what happens. If its connection flashes for a while then stays on your Sky router is faulty.

    Can't see how the setup CD is going to fix your problem.
     
  3. Miss Chief

    Miss Chief
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    But, if the power and test light (the tick) are flashing then it may indicate a fault with the firmware on the router.
     
  4. sevenxl77

    sevenxl77
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +632
    Cheers guys, started working now, no idea what happened?
     
  5. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22,134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +8,086
    Occasionally electronics can glitch up, especially consumer grade.
    There may have been a glitch on the line which made it behave oddly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice