Bright white causes picture & sound stutter on SKY digital?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by GOODMAP, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. GOODMAP

    GOODMAP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fareham, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lease: I've been experiencing a strange problem with Sky digital for quite a while now whereby the reception and picture/sound is perfect 99% of the time but whenever the broadcast picture is mostly bright white (such as with the advert breaks on E4 and E4+1 or the Homebase advert running currently) it causes the picture and sound to break-up and stutter.

    I mainly watch E4, Living, and Sky1 and have noticed this on all of these channels.

    Has anyone else experienced this or is it just my sky box that has a problem? I'm wondering if the bright white picture is just too much for the decoder to handle and causes signal clipping or something??? Maybe there is a signal amplitude setting that can be tweaked to correct this??? Or am I just talking crap?
     
  2. nathanhill69

    nathanhill69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    If you've got a Panasonic box (TU-DSB30 or TU-DSB31) this box develops this fault when watching the signal using the RGB signal. Only way around it is to switch your Sky box to PAL output.

    Hope this is relevant - if not then over to someone else....

    Nathan
     
  3. GOODMAP

    GOODMAP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fareham, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nathan, I think you may have hit the nail on the head as I do have a Panasonic digibox (TU-DSB31 I think). I shall change the output to PAL and see if this helps.

    If this is the fault, do you know if it is repairable or would buying a new/recon digibox be more cost effective?
    Many thanks.
     
  4. nathanhill69

    nathanhill69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    As far as repair goes it probably won't be that cost effective as you can pick up a second hand digibox off ebay for a reasonable price. If you don't mind working off the PAL signal then it will work fine with no problems.

    Nathan
     
  5. ddlooping

    ddlooping
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi all. :)

    Does this problem also affects the DSB40?
    I'm looking to replace my aging Pace digibox (I was told this might improve picture quality).
     

Share This Page

Loading...