Brand new out of box.......and no power!!!!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by NatD, Jan 31, 2009.

  1. NatD

    NatD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha - Qatar
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just after some advice if possible.

    Got my Denon 1909 delivered earlier this week, went to switch it on today (having spent hours wiring the speakers and such) and there is no power at all to the Amp!

    I received a Euro Plug that has been wired into a UK 3-Pin plug (hard to explain) with a 5 amp fuse.

    Tried changing the fuse and still nothing!!!!

    Am I just unlucky and received a faulty one, or is it something I have done / can do to rectify???

    Thanks in advance for your help!!!!!

    :lease:
     
  2. Amal99

    Amal99
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +43
    I doubt this is the problem, but have you pushed the actual on/off switch in (its right next to the on/standby button)? Only after that will the on/standby button work.
     
  3. NatD

    NatD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha - Qatar
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi mate - yeah I didn't realise at first there was Standby AND on / off but did that and still hasn't powered up!

    No lights or LED's are on.
     
  4. Amal99

    Amal99
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +43
    I see. Im not too sure on what else to say, give it another day or two and im sure some other members will have helpful suggestions.
     
  5. JH4

    JH4
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,468
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +299
    Several things I would check before it went back under warranty:
    Is the euro plug / UK connector OK ? A check with a voltmeter will tell if it's 240 Volts at the Amp end. Could be a fuse gone inside the Amp or the 5 Amp fuse which has blown again in the plug when you replaced it. Take off the top cover and you will see the Amp's fuses. More than that means it goes back, I would suggest. A bit unusual that it fails at the first switch-on though. Denons aren't normally like that. It's going to be a simple fault, I would guess. With the cover off, you may see something obvious, but make sure you don't do that with it plugged in, in case you get a belt !
    Best of luck !
     
  6. NatD

    NatD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha - Qatar
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for coming back to me.

    To be honest, I think I am gonna drive to the shop - I am in Manchester and they're in Nottingham.

    Normally it would be unde 2-hours, but not sure because of the Snow lol. Want to get it sorted this week if possible though.

    Will have another check.

    Ta,
     

Share This Page

Loading...