Castle123

Novice Member
Hi All,

I am fairly new to the home theatre world but I am in the process of building our family home and would like to have a room with a home theatre. I already have a projector that I am happy with for now but will be upgrading once I buy a PS5 in the future, but I need help on the speakers/AV receiver/placement of speakers.

Ideally I would like a 5.1.2 system, with two in ceiling speakers based on Dolby's speaker placement guide. My rough budget is in the region of £3,000 to £4,500 but if slightly over or under then that is fine by me.

The use of the home theatre will be 70/30 for movies and gaming (PS4 and I think NVidia Shield Pro for streaming on the 120inch screen). I like the look of Denon receivers and B&W speakers but if there are better options out there I am happy to hear about them. Is there much difference between a AVC-X3700H and a ACV-X4700H? I also want to future proof the equipment so I don't need to upgrade in the next few years at least.

Below is the current layout of the room though can be subject to change, not sure the wife would like the sofa away from the wall though... There will be a rug and some sound absorption material where possible.

1613937680818.png

As the build is still ongoing I can add speakers anywhere currently and the cables can be hidden etc so I am fairly flexible to changes.

Many thanks for any help in advance.

Harkon321

Looks straight forward enough. You might want to cable the sub to the rear as well, so you can try it in different locations or allow you to run a pair. You can get a huge variance in response from one location to another.

Castle123

Novice Member
Looks straight forward enough. You might want to cable the sub to the rear as well, so you can try it in different locations or allow you to run a pair. You can get a huge variance in response from one location to another.