1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Both Sky+ & DVD optical to single optical input on amp?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by john039, Sep 19, 2004.

  1. john039

    john039
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    Tried the search but no answers to my question......

    Have just had Sky+ fitted and would like to be able to use the optical out into my amp, unfortunately for me the one and only optical connection on amp is being used by my DVD player, how do you folks go about this problem?

    Only 1 optical output on Sky+.
    Only 1 optical on DVD player.
    1 optical and 1 coax inputs Amp.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    optical to caox converter? £30 + cables ish
     
  3. john039

    john039
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    Never thought that would be possible :confused:

    Thanks will look into it.
     
  4. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got one you can including 2 optical cables for £20 inc...let me know. I'll send instructions on how to connect as well...
     
  5. john039

    john039
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    Just been looking for these converters on google..
    Seems like they are all "powered" certainly dont need yet another plug in my already overloaded sockets :suicide:

    Thanks anyway, will just have to swap about as necessary.
     
  6. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine certainly isn't powered...you just plug 2 optical cables in one end and the signal comes out of one cable at the other...
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  8. john039

    john039
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    Ah another option now...optical expanders.

    Thanks for the links hornydragon.
     
  9. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,967
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,653
    Use an optical splitter in reverse , I do between my XBOX & SKY+.just have to make sure the SKY+ is in standby otherwise it can't decode the signal :smashin: .They are about £6 from B&Q
     
  10. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    can u find it on the b&q website? I couldnt see it anywhere on the site (www.diy.com)...
    thanks
     
  11. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,967
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,653
    probably not on the site :rolleyes: . its a maxview item .it'll be with the tv stuff they have , not normally far from the leccy aisle .Heres apiccie
     
  12. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
  13. john039

    john039
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    Gone for one of those....thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...