1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BOSE Accoustimass Speakers

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by WBC, May 11, 2005.

  1. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys

    I have a mate who's got an accoustimass system (not sure of the model, 2 sets of tiny cubes and a Sub). His Bose head unit is farked, He is looking to replace but he doesn't want to change his speakers.

    Can he get an adapter or something that will allow him to plug the accoustimass speakers into a new unit (not Bose)???

    Thanks
    Stace

    By the way this isn't an opportunity to cane Bose, I'm not interested in that, its not mine, would just prefer some help ;)

    Thanks Again
     
  2. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    I wouldnt want to keep two paper cubes for speakers but enough of that. Because the cubes are set to crossover at such a high frequency best bet would be a surround amp and a sub which can handle upto 200hz and set the crossover on amp to whatever the cubes rollof at which is high.
     
  3. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So are you suggesting that he couldn't keep the sub (thats what he call's it ;) )

    If he can, which is his plan, how would he connect to the receiver????

    Thanks
    Stace
     
  4. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    oh i thought the sub was the thing that had it, i thought speakers were connected to sub. Im guesing the sub is conected to another unit with the speakers with standered speaker cable?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    OK quick lesson in BOSE
    BOSE LS systems use, a powered (active sub) bass (Ha ha ha) module this powers the ouputs for the speakers (crapcubes and sub). I am 99% sure that this will act as a power amp for the speakers (crap cubes) when conneted to a pre amp (BOSE Head Unit or Other) you need to ring BOSE technical (Customer services should connect you) and order a din to RCA cablethe L+R preouts of amp go to this and this goes to the Bass (Ha ha ha) Module.

    Other wise buy a BOSE passive sub (AM3/6 Bass Module) and connect this direct to the High level output of the AMP (having HU repaired may be the best option, your BOE dealer or BOE CS can arrange this)
     
  6. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    by the way were abouts in north pompey are u? im north of there too ;)
     
  7. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The cubes are connected to the sub and the sub connects to the head unit. This connection to the head unit is via a 'special' cable.

    I assume their is some sort of adapter that converts this 'special' connection to standard banana plugs (or similar)?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    No no no.
    BOSE HU connect to a B module which contains an Amplifier which drives the SUB and speakers Speakers connect to sub and sub to HU.
    HU is pre amp, bass module is power amp and sub, and Cubes are CRAP
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    would help to know which LS system it is and which cubes, Singles, duals or JEWEL cubes........ I am assuming its an LS5/12 CD player HU not a newer 18/28/35/48 etc (DVD player HU)
     
  10. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    not much room for upgrades then lol. are u telling me that that little sub is able to power itself and those cubes and still beable to prduce such good bass response :eek:
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Actually if you know what you are doing then there is..........and yes the MP module in the Woofer drives the Bass module and the Cubes
     
  12. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674

    phillfyspoon....Please read the quote below,and confine your posts to advice as requested.
    If you have no useful information to give,then please leave it to those who may be able to help.

    "By the way this isn't an opportunity to cane Bose, I'm not interested in that, its not mine, would just prefer some help "
     
  13. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll find out the exact model.

    As far as the cubes are concerned, to describe, they are 'twinned' in that one sits on top of the other and are incredibly small.

    Does that help?
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    yes it does do they have cloth or plastic grills?
    they are Doubles or JEWEL doesnt make a huge difference but can
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  16. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just phoned him, its the Lifestyle 20.

    Yep its the same as the one in the PDF!
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    yep that the one i linked too...........just need a premp and DIN to RCA cable, they are not on the bose website but it can be done IIRC need a stereo amp with preouts, (dont spend too much on this) best to speak to local dealers or just get the LS20 repaired..... his other option is to use the AM20 (thats the name of his speakers IIRC) as zone 2 off a newer LS system L18 etc (also could look for a cheap HU on fleabay) loads of options......I can offer more help if needed
     
  18. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks

    Are 'all in one' systems (micro/midi etc) often supplied with pre-outs??? I'm guessing if he can't fix it thats the way he'd go???
     
  19. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Almost never..................
    for preouts you need decent kit stereo processor, could use an AV amp, whats actually wrong with it?
     
  20. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    After being on for 30 minutes or so, you can hear a very audible clicking, which gets more regular as time goes on.

    I thought I had eliminated the problem when I moved the kit away from the power sockets (it was within inches of a double) and run an extension to a different ring. The kit is currently plugged in to the same ring as the kitchen, I thought it was dirty power but aparently the problems back!
     
  21. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well cheapest solution is contact BOSE about a repair.....
     
  22. WBC

    WBC
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...