1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bose 35 set up

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by markbigears, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. markbigears

    markbigears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chalk, Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    can anyone help me, whats the best way to set up a bose 35 with a plasma for best picture and audio quality? Many thanks, Mark
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Does plasma have component input what plasma and what else is connected?
     
  3. markbigears

    markbigears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chalk, Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    plasma is the th42pa20b and yes it has component in, thing is im not sure if the bose has? looking at various set ups most seem s-video. If you know if the bose has component in it would be appreciated if you could drop me a post. Also, any idea on audio inputs. Im linking a VHS recorder and a DVD recorder up at a later date too. Mucho thanks, Mark
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    BOSE lifestyle 35 will output component via an adapter which uses both the composite and S-video connections.
    Means you cant use the video switching but can get best DVD quality Adapter should be in the Box you will need a 3 RCA>3RCA component cable and you have to change the LS setup to output component.
    Audio for VCR use 2 phono to the VCR input on the BOSE head unit and DVD-R either the same way or via optical input Send video direct to PA20 scarts in both cases!
    PS can i ask where you bought the system?
     
  5. markbigears

    markbigears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chalk, Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    bought the plasma for £2995 and bose £2950 both from john Lewis. Why do you ask? Many thanks for the advice on setting up. Much appreciated.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Well they should really have explained all this to you, I deal with BOSE quite often and the package you got for £6k is very good buy. Personally i would reconmend the plain PW6 with a LS35 unless you dont have sky, cable, or freeview (fewer speakers you see. Also means the BOSE syetm is fully utilised for sound.
     
  7. markbigears

    markbigears
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chalk, Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Im sure they will explain to me, but my wife did the deal, so i havent been down to them yet. No havent got sky or freeview and also wanted the extra speakers just so that, say for news on TV, i didnt want it coming through the bose speakers. When you say "fully utilised for sound" whats does that mean? have i bought the wrong plasma? Many thnks so your advice, im a bit of a novice at this AV lark!
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    NO fully utilised means always USE BOSE even if just for the news, East enders etc for TV sound you would need to run a pair of stereo phono leads to the Bose from TV (plasma) audio out.
    PS sounds like your wife got a cracking deal mark.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...