Question Bookshelf speakers purely for music?!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Speakers' started by Kleung, Jan 11, 2019.

1. Kleung

Kleung
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, I’ve been reading a lot on this forum and I want to thank you all for the informative discussions! This will be my first post as I’m having trouble deciding what speakers to get, any help would be much appreciated!

To start off with, I’m a noob in the hifi world. Two years ago I bought a Goldnote AP-7 amp with a power output of 2*30W. I paired it with a pair of budget KEF floorstanders which I got for free from relatives. Now I am hoping to upgrade the speakers with a budget of max £1000. Here’s some additional info:

Amp: Goldnote AP-7 2*30W
    Source: Mostly CD, occasionally Bluetooth (with an Arcam Bluetooth receiver)
    Requirement: for music only (jazz, country, rock, nothing too heavy)
    Room size: 3.5m x 7m

I understand that the power from the small Goldnote amp is quite limited but I really liked its size. I’m looking at bookshelf speakers as I prefer the look and presume that they don’t require as much power to feed?! (Pls correct me if I’m wrong)

Anyway I have done some research and shortlisted a few speakers:

Monitor audio silver 100

Dynaudio emit M20/ m10

B&w 606

Linn Majik 109

Quad s-2

Fyne Audio f500

Would these pair well in the system? Any other recommendations are welcome!

Thank you!!

2. dannnielll

dannnielll

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +705
    Hi , i picked up a pair of MA MR2 in unused state for 50 quid..and they are lovely!. I see that Amazon have someone selling them at 138 quid. I had heard in a Richer Sounds shop a week previously a MA Silver 4 or 6 playing harp and guitar and wanted something similar..

3. Ugg10

Ugg10

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,380
  4. Kleung

Kleung
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0