1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bodge it & Scarper - My attempt at water cooling

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by drummerjohn, May 29, 2004.

  1. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    Gave up with the Globalwin Silentstream watercooling as it kept getting airlocks. Flawed design so sent it back.

    Had a brainwave!!!

    Bought a Zalman CPU Block for watercooling.

    Bought a storage container (holds about 4 gallons) and 8mm clear hose from B&Q.

    Dug out my old pond pump (4500 litres per hour).

    Put the pump in the now water filled storage container and connected the hoses to the CPU block and tested for leaks.

    Put it in my system this morning.

    Ran for 20mins under full load.

    Ambient temperature was 21c
    CPU temp (full load) was 35c

    Now its cooler and quieter!!!

    Here are some pics if you are interested:

    http://server5.uploadit.org/files/drummerbod-wcreservoirtop.jpg
    http://server5.uploadit.org/files/drummerbod-wcreservoirfront.jpg
    http://server5.uploadit.org/files/drummerbod-wcpccpublock.jpg

    Need to get some anti-algae additive.
     
  2. Bursar

    Bursar
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +216
    You don't need anything fancy, just some Water Wetter will do. It pongs a bit though, so I hope your res is sealed to stop the smell from escaping.

    Not a bad job though :D
     
  3. mt50

    mt50
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    stoke-on-trent
    Ratings:
    +84
    nince, job. how much would all that cost to buy? and how loud is the pump?
     
  4. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    8mm Tube £6 from B&Q
    Container £4.50 from B&Q
    Zalman CPU Block £42
    My old pond pump was £99 when I bought it 2 years ago - but it is a high power pump (4500 litres per hour) and is well over the top for this. I think you can buy 1500ltr/hr pond pumps for about £30.

    As for noise - all I can hear is a slight hum (thats with my ear to the container). FANTASTIC!

    To do...
    Looking to buy a central heating radiator (600x600 £20) to put in the loop. That will keep it cool even in the summer and for extended periods.

    Buy a 240v/12v Relay (Maplins £2) to turn the pump on and off from the PC power supply.
     
  5. BBD

    BBD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lutterworth
    Ratings:
    +3
    This looks excellent. My only concern would be how it performs over a longer period. You have quite a large volume of water which will take a while to heat up. You currently don't have a means of disipating the heat from your plastic storage container. I like the idea of a domestic radiator the large surface area will prevent the need for assisted cooling (fans). Any chance of giving a report of how it works over a longer period?
     
  6. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    Yeah - I will report back when Ive got my radiator from Wickes and fitted it.

    This definitely needs to be fanless or there is no point.
     
  7. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    Now fitted 500x420 single radiator in loop on outgoing side of CPU block.

    Ambient temp: 23
    CPU idle: 39
    LOAD: 43

    Thats after 2+ hours btw so all temps are stable throughout the solution.

    Machine specs:
    Abit NF7S
    Barton 2500 o/c to 3200
    420 fsb

    I guess if I wasnt overclocking the temps wouldn's go above 40.
     
  8. BBD

    BBD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lutterworth
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sounds like an excellent (and cheap) solution. Any chance of some more pics showing the rad. What fitting did you use to connect the rad to the tubing? I have an old aquarium pump kicking around in the loft do you think the flow rate would be okay?
     
  9. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    I dont think a normal aquarium pump will be man enough. Any idea of litres per hour?

    I will have to post some pics and details when I come back off hols in 2 weeks.

    Damn holidays... just getting into this watercooling thing.
     
  10. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
  11. BBD

    BBD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lutterworth
    Ratings:
    +3
    The copper rad looks great but I don't think it will be as effective as the ordinary rad. (much smaller surface area) although it still may be good enough. Did you added any sort of corrosion inhibitor to the system?
     
  12. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    No Inhibitor as they dont like aluminium - the Zalman waterblock is anodized aluminium and copper so I didnt want to take the risk.

    If the surface area is an issue I can increase it easily by soldering on copper pipes.
     
  13. banners

    banners
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +16
  14. BBD

    BBD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2001
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lutterworth
    Ratings:
    +3
    You could use a corrosion inhibitor suitable for aluminum core boilers. Antifreeze also contains a rust inhibitor suitable for use with aluminium. The system would be a bit smelly though if it's not sealed.
     
  15. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    Banners - thanx - that site was amazing. He had some good metalworking kit. Some good ideas there as well.

    Thanks for your ideas people.
     
  16. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    UPDATE

    Painted my copper radiator black and mounted it on the side of my desk.

    Purchased a smaller container for the water reservoir.

    Here are some pics...
    http://server6.uploadit.org/files/drummerbod-Blackrad.jpg
    http://server6.uploadit.org/files/drummerbod-WCoverview.jpg

    Water is half the vloume now - about 2.5 gallons.

    After 2 hours of use full load...
    Room temp: 23c
    CPU (full load): 42c

    After 10/15 mins temp drops down to 38 again and stabilises.

    My home made copper radiator isnt as effective as the central heating radiator but the I wont get rust etc.
     
  17. neilneil

    neilneil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    A BIG word of warning. My experience with aquarium pumps is that sometimes they do not start up when plugged in.
    The rotor can just sit there humming and held by the magnetic field.
    When in this state, if you just touch the rotor, it will start to spin fine.
    However if you are switching the pump on and off every time you start the PC up and the pump fails to start you may end up with no cooling on your processor.... POP! :oops:

    Would the heat sink you have be enough for the processor to hang on in there untill some temperature monitoring software on the PC starts up and alearts you that there's no cooling.

    Just a thought

    -Neil
     
  18. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +188
    Thansk for the warning - I tested that theory (by accident) when I first made the kit. Twice I forgot to put the pump on and within 2 minutes my PC shut itself down. BIOS turns shutsdown system @ 60c.
     

Share This Page

Loading...