BMW Business problems

Discussion in 'ICE, Sat Navs & Dash Cams Forum' started by happyh, Feb 21, 2005.

  1. happyh

    happyh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    Just bought a 3 yr old 3 series Touring with BMW Business radio/6cd remote.
    All is fine except that the radio is stuck with AM/LW. When you press the FM part of the button , nothing happens.

    Can it be fixed, am I missing something or do I need a replacement?

    Cheers,
    happyh
     
  2. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,104
    Just checked the manual for the CD version that was installed in my 2000 X reg (I think it's the same) & there's no tricks. Pressing the FM side of the selector should step between FM1, FM2 & Autostore.

    If yours is faulty, I wouldn't recommend a repair as it's a truly awful unit. Same cheap & nasty Blaupunkt cr*p that was installed in my 1995 Cavalier - just repackaged. Same horrible, dull, lifeless sound. I bought my Touring new & paid £150 to upgrade the cassette to CD. Within a week I had to rip it out & replace it with a proper stereo. :suicide:
     
  3. happyh

    happyh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for that.
    Do you want to sell me the old one? :)
     
  4. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,104
    I must admit that thought crossed my mind before I slagged it off!

    I was intending to keep it to refit when I sell the car. If yours is a CD player then perhaps we could swap with a cash adjustment?
     
  5. happyh

    happyh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Mine has the 6 cd changer in the boot. I probably only need a head unit.
    What did you have in mind cash wise?
     
  6. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,772
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,686
    If you are heading towards a trade, here, please use the classifieds forum in the proper way to ensure you benefit from the protection it provides.
     
  7. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,104
    On reflection, I think this could get messy.

    Maybe a call to Blaupunkt (01895 83 8880) first to find a local repairer to give you a quote. It may not be that much.

    I take it the car is over 3 years old & not bought from a dealer, otherwise it should be covered by warranty.

    If you've got any brave pills to hand, it looks like the front panel is secured to the unit by 6 x T6 screws.

    If all else fails, come back to me & I'll see what I can come up with.
     
  8. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    Whats a good replacement for the standard unit, I find it terrible, not a patch on the unit I had in the Passat. Its on lease hire, so I need to be able to return it to original easily. I dont need anything outstanding,(read, not expensive).
     
  9. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,104
    The unit is a standard DIN size with just an extended fascia. You can buy plastics kits to match the existing trim & BMW to ISO connectors so the entire ICE world is your oyster.
     
  10. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    I have the remote mounted 6 CD changer in the boot, so do I need a head unit or a full unit ? Im a bit confused by this ICE stuff, give me mone cinema or HiFi anyday.
     
  11. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,104
    Buy one that plays MP3s, burn 15 or so albums to a single CD & forget the changer. Suggest you start your own thread asking for recommendations but as a guide, I bought a Sony MP3 capable head unit for the missus' Corsa last year for around £150. I originally replaced the Blaupunkt in the BMW with a Sony also. Check for adapters to retain steering wheel control if you have that & you need to keep it.
     
  12. happyh

    happyh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers crocodile. I'll see if i can get it repaired.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice