1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BMW Business problems

Discussion in 'ICE, Sat Navs & Dash Cams Forum' started by happyh, Feb 21, 2005.

  1. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    Just bought a 3 yr old 3 series Touring with BMW Business radio/6cd remote.
    All is fine except that the radio is stuck with AM/LW. When you press the FM part of the button , nothing happens.

    Can it be fixed, am I missing something or do I need a replacement?

    Cheers,
    happyh
     
  2. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,470
    Just checked the manual for the CD version that was installed in my 2000 X reg (I think it's the same) & there's no tricks. Pressing the FM side of the selector should step between FM1, FM2 & Autostore.

    If yours is faulty, I wouldn't recommend a repair as it's a truly awful unit. Same cheap & nasty Blaupunkt cr*p that was installed in my 1995 Cavalier - just repackaged. Same horrible, dull, lifeless sound. I bought my Touring new & paid £150 to upgrade the cassette to CD. Within a week I had to rip it out & replace it with a proper stereo. :suicide:
     
  3. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for that.
    Do you want to sell me the old one? :)
     
  4. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,470
    I must admit that thought crossed my mind before I slagged it off!

    I was intending to keep it to refit when I sell the car. If yours is a CD player then perhaps we could swap with a cash adjustment?
     
  5. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Mine has the 6 cd changer in the boot. I probably only need a head unit.
    What did you have in mind cash wise?
     
  6. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,743
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,409
    If you are heading towards a trade, here, please use the classifieds forum in the proper way to ensure you benefit from the protection it provides.
     
  7. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,470
    On reflection, I think this could get messy.

    Maybe a call to Blaupunkt (01895 83 8880) first to find a local repairer to give you a quote. It may not be that much.

    I take it the car is over 3 years old & not bought from a dealer, otherwise it should be covered by warranty.

    If you've got any brave pills to hand, it looks like the front panel is secured to the unit by 6 x T6 screws.

    If all else fails, come back to me & I'll see what I can come up with.
     
  8. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    Whats a good replacement for the standard unit, I find it terrible, not a patch on the unit I had in the Passat. Its on lease hire, so I need to be able to return it to original easily. I dont need anything outstanding,(read, not expensive).
     
  9. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,470
    The unit is a standard DIN size with just an extended fascia. You can buy plastics kits to match the existing trim & BMW to ISO connectors so the entire ICE world is your oyster.
     
  10. karkus30

    karkus30
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    I have the remote mounted 6 CD changer in the boot, so do I need a head unit or a full unit ? Im a bit confused by this ICE stuff, give me mone cinema or HiFi anyday.
     
  11. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,470
    Buy one that plays MP3s, burn 15 or so albums to a single CD & forget the changer. Suggest you start your own thread asking for recommendations but as a guide, I bought a Sony MP3 capable head unit for the missus' Corsa last year for around £150. I originally replaced the Blaupunkt in the BMW with a Sony also. Check for adapters to retain steering wheel control if you have that & you need to keep it.
     
  12. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers crocodile. I'll see if i can get it repaired.
     

Share This Page

Loading...