Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Blurred images from DVD on AE700

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by miketheman2k, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. miketheman2k

    miketheman2k
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've recently upgraded my Panasonic AE100 to an AE700. While I'm suitably impressed with the brighter images, etc. I have found that it makes my DVD's look much more blurred.

    I am guessing that the images were like this on the AE100, but now the pixels (screendoor) can not be seen, it shows the lack of detail on DVD's?

    My DVD player is a Sony progressive-scan (was about £200 when I bought it 18 months ago, can't remember the model number :oops: ) and I am using high-quality (albeit rather long) components cables to the projector.

    What's the cure for this problem going to be? HD-DVD? Or is there a cheapish method of processing the current image to look better - perhaps using the HD input on the AE700?

    Has anyone else found this to be a problem?

    Thanks in advance,
    Mike
     
  2. David_of_Surrey

    David_of_Surrey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi,

    Have a check that the projector is firing exactly perpendicular to the screen. if not different parts of the screen will have different focus

    Dave
     
  3. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +617
    I made the mistake of going for a 10m component lead to connect my Pany S97 to my Z3 and was really quite disappointed with the soft, almost blurry, image. Though it was a very soft (in more ways than one) film I watched (Sky Pilot and the World of Tomorrow). Then I bought a 10m HDMI lead and fed the S97 through my Lumagen with a 1m component lead, and then via HDMI to the Z3. The difference is chalk and cheese. Now I get images that look like they do at the pictures (when it's set up properly, of course), if not better. I'd say at least twice as sharp and defined as the component feed, though it's very hard to actually quantify these things. I know one thing, I'd never go back to component after using HDMI. Though the Lumagen might have a lot to do with it, so maybe you wouldn't see such a dramatic effect, I dunno.

    Regards

    Mark
     
  4. miketheman2k

    miketheman2k
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the comments chaps.

    I could quite easily build a cheap HTPC with a bog-standard DVD-ROM and DVI output graphics card, then use a 10 metre digital cable - obviously this wouldn't have any of the other clever boxes to process the video - would this look better purely because its digital?

    Thanks again.
     
  5. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +564
    I use 15m DVI and 15m component. The DVI looks detailed but not as sharp as component. I suspect it's the fact that the Pio 575 allows the sharpness to be ramped up.

    HDMI/DVI is usually sharper than component on the same player, but a good component deck can outstrip DVI/HDMI players in some cases...PJ :)
     
  6. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +179
    Just a question.

    When you bring up the projectors on screen menu for adjustments. Is the menu pin sharp.

    I know it sounds obvious but i've got to ask.
     
  7. Monster

    Monster
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2000
    Messages:
    978
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +30
    I upgraded from a Tosh 210 to a Pioneer 575A and the Pioneer picture Via AE300 was significantly sharper. Instantly noticeable. If I go back to Initerlaced it blurrs.

    Have you tried another DVD player hooked up to the PJ?

    I also use a home made 10m component lead. I've tried an £60 1m lead and could see no discernable difference in quality.

    Not sure this helps but thought I would share my experience....
     
  8. miketheman2k

    miketheman2k
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol, good question...but yes, it looks very sharp, way better than the DVD playback!
     
  9. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +564
    :)
    It's a good question and yes the menu is pin sharp, I use the menu on the TX to focus the image whenever I accidentally move the focus ring. It's a much better reference than any DVD...PJ
     
  10. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +617
    And being able to bounce it around the screen (well, you can on a Z3 anyways, so I assume the others do to) is a very good way to quickly tell you that your screen is square on to the projector, as the menu should remain pin sharp in every location.

    Regards

    Mark
     
  11. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +564
    It can be moved it as you describe. It shows whether there's any uneven focus issues which can be a side effect of excessive lens shift.

    The fact that the image is perfectly 16:9 without any keystone is the best indication as to whether the PJ is square to the screen...PJ :)
     
  12. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +179
    Right. My next question.

    When you stop the DVD movie and bring up the setup menu on the DVD player. Is the menu pin sharp (no ghosting).

    Cause if it is then you are either:-

    1/ Not got the DVD player in progressive scan mode

    or

    2/ Have the picture settings on the PJ not set up properly

    or

    3/ Expecting too much.

    Have you tried the THX video setup feature on Starwars/Indiana movies...

    Does the lettering on that look sharp?

    Piccies please :)
     
  13. miketheman2k

    miketheman2k
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Indeed it is, I shall get some pictures later on!

    Cheers,
    Mike
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice