• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Bluetooth GPS Receivers 12,20,32 channel?

raykoko

Established Member
Is there a 'best' receiver for use in a car?
Looking to use one with my SE P910i phone.
Have seen Holox (not Holux) 32 chan stating they are the most sensitive for indoor use, anyone know how they compare with branded items that seem to at a higher price with less channels detected?

B

bornagain

I have been using a Holox BT321 GPS receiver for a couple of months now. Everything you read in the blurb is correct. I often leave the receiver in the boot of the car and it works fine. In fact it works anywhere in the car, in the glove box, under the seat, in my pocket - great piece of kit and very quick to get a satelite fix.
Hope this helps. When I bought mine on ebay the buy it now price was £49.99 - I offered £40 and it was accepted. Go to http://feedback.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=future_trends&iid=5875134492&frm=284
There are currently 28 satelites up there - the Holox is future proof in that it can track 32 - more satelites are being launched in the future. I get a minimum of 6 or 7 fixes every time.
Brian:hiya:

njp

Prominent Member
bornagain said:
There are currently 28 satelites up there - the Holox is future proof in that it can track 32 - more satelites are being launched in the future. I get a minimum of 6 or 7 fixes every time.
Brian:hiya:
Rather pointless, given that the complete GPS constellation consists of 24 satellites, with the remainder being spares. IIRC, the maximum number of satellites that are ever simultaneously in view of a receiver anywhere on the planet is 12, in totally unobstructed terrain, and then only for a few minutes at a time.

Still, I suppose bigger numbers look better in the marketing blurb!