1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BlueRay question...

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by LRk, Oct 27, 2004.

  1. LRk

    LRk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Thanks to the advice from this forum i've not long bought a panasonic th-42pe30 with which i'm well pleased. :clap:
    But I was wondering,how will Blue-Ray dvd's play on a sd plasma screen with the resolution of the pe30?.Will the better resolution on the disc be apparent on screen or would I need a Hi-Def plasma (I love my shiny new telly and I'll be :censored: if Im buying a new one anytime soon.)

    I'd be much relieved if someone could put my mind at ease

    :lease:
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Hi,

    Unfortunately your PE30 doesn't accept 720p signals and hasn't got a DVI or HDMI input either. Sky HD boxes may only output HD from an HDMI connector - HD component outputs are not guaranteed, although they would lose a lot of potential customers for their service if they didn't fit them. Hopefully, you would be also be able to select a suitable output resolution such as 1080i for your display, like US STBs allow. Blu-ray and HD DVD will be only HD from HDMI - definitely not from component. Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  3. gammmmo

    gammmmo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +12
    "Blu-ray and HD DVD will be only HD from HDMI - definitely not from component"

    If this is true it would play a pretty major role in my choice of plasma. Are Jap blu-ray players only HDMI?
     
  4. Todda

    Todda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I ask where you have taken this quote from please.

    Thanks
     
  5. gammmmo

    gammmmo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yeah, the post directly above the one I made...
     
  6. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    It is possible that HD Sat receivers, such as $ky, will also have the same constraints for CP material - films etc. In other countries, when the CP flag is set, its SD only via component and some broadcasters have bowed to pressure from the filmmakers and have started doing this.
     
  7. Todda

    Todda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry. I was showing my intellegence there.

    Cheers
     
  8. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Current DVD licensing doesn't even allow upscaled SD material to be output over component, although some Chinese manufacturers don't play by the rules! On that basis I can't see them allowing unencryted analogue 1080p out of component for HD DVD, or the BDA allowing Blu-ray players to output the same.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...