1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blue tube image problems !!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cosmic023, May 3, 2004.

  1. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi All,

    My blue tube seems to have an image which is bigger than the phosphor area ??

    The green & red are centered, and are winthin tolerances of the phosphor edge. Why would the blue increase in size ?? Because i found it almost impossible to converge the blue image, and have to wind everything to the extremes and it's still not lined up properly ??

    I just don't understand it, as it was ok before ?? The only thing i did was rotate the blue yoke to level the image.

    Have i disturbed something else in the PJ ?? Becasue the blue image is bigger than red & green images ??

    What can i do to reduce the blue image, so everything is ok again ??

    Cheers

    Cosmic023
     
  2. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    I know its an obvious to suggest, but r u sure you havent moved one of the other rings whille adjusting the yoke ?
     
  3. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi Rob,

    What rings ??

    I haven't ventured very far inside this thing, just rotated the blue yoke today. Blinkin' scary with 36kv+ floatin' around.......been putting it off for ages.

    Cheers

    Cosmic

    EDIT:

    Sorry misread your post Rob, haven't touched any of the pole rings at the back, would they move that easily ??

    If so which one do i use to reduce the size of the blue image ??
    (The blue image is currently about 2-3mm bigger than the red & green images, and bigger than the phosphor edge !!)
     
  4. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    I dont know which rings would effect this sorry but yes the do move easily, well mine did anyway,
    mabey roland or one of the other guys know which one it would be, you say its the only change you have made, so it must be that mate, give roland a phone mabey he will know.
    0118 375 9464
     
  5. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Rob:

    Yeah still no joy, but i'm workin' on it.

    I think i will give Roland a call (If he's there ??) as i got the PJ from him in the first place.

    Typical 'tho as i start to venture inside, thing's start to happen that are not needed !!

    Gremlins they get everywhere !! :D

    Cheers

    Cosmic023
     
  6. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    mabey your 801s has the sasser virus :devil:
     
  7. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    No viruses here rob !! :D

    Just been on the blower to Roland@B4, and i moved the blue yoke back from the bell of the tube.

    Once pushed forward, resets the blue image to almost where it should be !!

    Well in my state of panic, i reset everything to midposition.....so i'm going to have to do a full set-up again !! :(

    But at least i learnt a lesson here !!

    Cheers

    Cosmic023
     
  8. rob12770

    rob12770
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh/Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +42
    thats good, its a nightmare when the PJ messes up, ive been there too mate, havent we all. glad you got it sorted :smashin:
     
  9. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Thanx Rob:

    Yeah, still learning me way round this complex beast. I do have basic skills in electronics, and do basic repairs in most appliances.

    So those skills come in handy.

    Cheers

    Cosmic023
     
  10. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Pulling the yoke back from the bell of the tube will make the image bigger. It will also cause the tube to heat considerably.
     
  11. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Yep sorted that one Roland, looks as good as it did before.

    Many thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...