blu-ray multi-region

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by AVn00b, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. AVn00b

    AVn00b
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there an difference between region B player and region-free players. plus the same with region a and region b blu-ray dvds?

    because i'm in two minds what to go for.
     
  2. t72bogie

    t72bogie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +532
    what do you mean?

    As far as im aware, all the suppliers of multi-region (on BR and SD DVD) players in the UK, use UK regular models, then modify them, rather than vice versa

    Ive got a multi region Panny DMP55, I think the price premium was about £75 at the time for a multi-region version, but personally worth it to me as i have a huge region 1 collection, and travel extensively abroad - I found it too restrictive having to worry about whether a BR disc id bought abroad would play when I get home
     
  3. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    All players ship with a region code and you need to modify the hardware as a secondary mod if you want to get around that ON bLU RAY. Typically B for UK. If the disc has no region coding like Warner then they will play in any machine, modded or not. If the disc uses region coding like Fox then they will only play in the correct region hardware or modded hardware. Modding a Blu ray player is not easy for most people and involves soldering tiny wires near surface mount components.

    DVD regions are different to Blu ray ones but players are often more easily modifiable. The current Sony / Panny Blu ray ones are easy to do for DVD regions. Ones from Samsung are not. Go figure!!
     
  4. simonblue

    simonblue
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    19,797
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +8,966
    Hi the price of getting Blu-ray multi-region A B is still very expentive, its cheaper if u need muilt-region to have both region A & B players:D
     
  5. t72bogie

    t72bogie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +532
    eh ? you mean I could have bought another Panny DMP55 for less than the £75 the mod cost :Dh
     
  6. Mark Botwright

    Mark Botwright
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,341
    Do you mind if i ask where you got it from?

    I'm looking into either a region A player or multi but can't seem to make my mind up.
     
  7. t72bogie

    t72bogie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +532
    my other half bought it for me for xmas - somewhere in Essex I think, maybe Romford Home Theatre
     
  8. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,304
  9. Stuart

    Stuart
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    16,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Hampton, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +3,165
    Was that £75 for MR DVD or Blu-ray?
     
  10. Mark Botwright

    Mark Botwright
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,341
  11. AVn00b

    AVn00b
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    say i bought a moded blu-ray player when upadating firmware can the player be blocked?
     
  12. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,304
    Supposedly not. This is why the mod is expensive. The relevant bits of hardware are duplicated inside so any firmware mod is only applied to the bit that's currently in use (i.e. for the region in question). As far as I understand it (stand to be corrected) when you turn the machine on, each time you do so in a way that determines which region it is to be (and hence which duplicate hardware to actually run). The other region's hardware is unused, possibly even unpowered and can't therefore be affected by firmware.
     
  13. Pecker

    Pecker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    22,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,608
    That's my understanding, too.

    Why on earth haven't any of these companies done this with a cheap player like the Sammy BDP-1500?

    Steve W
     
  14. pedrovi

    pedrovi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have updated the firmware on a modded Pio LX70A several times.
    The player remains region free (Reg.A and Reg.B for Blu Ray and R.1 and R.2 for DVD).
    You select the region by choosing 1 or 2 on the remote in stand by.

    The only problem is, each time you upgrade the firmware you have to do it twice. (once for the R1 firmware from the Pio US site and again for the R2 firmware from the European site) :)
     
  15. t72bogie

    t72bogie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +532
    both I think ...of course that was £75 on top of whatever price youve paid for your player ...which varies wildy between on ebay and full RRP
     
  16. AVn00b

    AVn00b
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do one for all or any other remotes blu-ray codes for multi-region always work?
     

Share This Page

Loading...