Blocky Tv Picture

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by Molly, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. Molly

    Molly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a blackgold TV card installed on my MCE machine. On occasion the TV picture turns all blocky (large blocks flicker quickly). When I press stop and then resume, the picture goes back to normal viewing.

    Any ideas??
     
  2. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    Probably a poor signal or possibly a low powered CPU if you system is a roll your own. What are your specifications?
     
  3. Molly

    Molly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't think its a signal problem because it corrects itself by stopping and restarting.

    My Pc spec is a AMD 3200+, Ati 9600 and 1gb Ram?

    I have no problem playing Hi-def.
     
  4. Pudgerboy

    Pudgerboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    what mpeg2 decoder are you usng? you could try a different one.
     
  5. Molly

    Molly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm using the Nvidia codec.

    What other codecs are available?

    Has anyone else had the same problem?
     
  6. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    I still suspect the DVB-T signal. Does it happen on any recordings & is it consistently in the same place? Next time it happens try rewinding & then playing back. If the blockiness is consistent then it is a problem with what MCE is receiving from the TV tuner. Make sure that you have the latest drivers for the TV card & graphics card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...