1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

blade 2 an its terrible layer change

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by SILVERBACK, Aug 31, 2002.

  1. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    jesus wept who decided to put the layer change there i thought my player was on its way out.anyone lese agree its a shocker of a layer change :confused:
     
  2. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    where abouts is the layer change
     
  3. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,570
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,190
    Not got mine yet so I'll reserve judgement! :(
    However, layer changes do seem to be an overlooked area within disc development, some machines also handle it better, but more thought could certainly be given to the issue by the studio's, is it worth their time and money though? :mad:
     
  4. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,496
    It is bad but not as bad as Pulp Fiction, just before the end of the gold watch speach
     
  5. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,696
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    haven't got my BII yet either but my vote for the worst layer change is the new Yes Symphonic DVD with a layer change in the middle of a track for fcuks sake (what are these people on!!!)
    Paul :mad:
     
  6. mcmullanbrush

    mcmullanbrush
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    rotherham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worst layer change of all time has to be Ride with the Devil.

    Right in the middle of a word, in the middle of a conversation:mad:

    Three minutes later there is a cut in the film which has a fade to black and a cut in the sound for a few seconds:rolleyes:
     
  7. toonarmy

    toonarmy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Ratings:
    +6
    Anyone out there had any problems with Blade 2 (Region 1 USA Version).
    While watching the disc tonight the whole picture froze 3 min 18 sec into chapter 11.
    There are no visible scratches or marks on the disc and I've cleaned the disc half a dozen times and it still freezes.
    Looks like I'll have to contact Movietyme for a replacement.
     
  8. steve1056

    steve1056
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +5
    Watched my R1 version tonight (from Movietyme - USA version). Didn't think the layer change was all that bad -- I've seen worse! Certainly didn't spoil the movie for me.
     
  9. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +235
    Watched it last night and I didn't think the layer change was too bad.
    Just a typical looking layer change to me.

    It wasn't a very good time in the movie to do one, but given that the movie is all go I don't know when they could have put it.
     
  10. SILVERBACK

    SILVERBACK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +73
    i have a great place to put the layer change do it like they did with little nicky right at the end of the film when the credits start to roll
     
  11. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +235
    Some how I don't think they could fit a 2 hour long movie with DTS and DD soundtracks on one 4.7GB layer of a DVD without major compression.
     
  12. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,631
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    was a rather pants layer change (I thought the movie had frozen), saying that I really wasn;t impressed with the film anyway, I prefer the first..but that's just my opinion..;)
     
  13. Rainfall

    Rainfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +14
    I watched my US version from Movietyme last night and never noticed the layer change, it a tremendous dvd, the black levels & shadow details are some of the best I've seen for a long time;)

    cheers Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...