1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Black settings

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by d0mj4y, Jan 25, 2005.

  1. d0mj4y

    d0mj4y
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I recently watched Van Helsing (a very dark movie) on my 42pw7, for the majority of the film it seemed as if a large number of pixels weren't displaying any colour at all (simply looked like they were in 'no signal' mode) due to the darkness of the film.

    I notice that when you go into "Picture" there is an option to set up some advanced settings, namely:

    Black Extension (0-8)
    Input Level (-32 to 32)
    W/B High R (-30 to 30)
    W/B High B (-30 to 30)
    W/B Low R (-30 to 30)
    W/B Low B (-30 to 30)
    Gamma (2.0/2.2/2.5/S Curve)
    AGC (on/off)

    Does anyone have any recommended settings that they have used for their own unit? (Please don't tell me settings that will fry my unit!)

    My room is fairly bright during daytime use, but it is mainly used in the darker hours.

    Many thanks for your help
     
  2. matt bellamy

    matt bellamy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

    I set my pw7 picture using DVE DVD and the image was excellent when I watched Van Helsing and Hellboy (another dark film). The settings are:

    Picture setting - Normal
    Contrast 16
    Brightness 4 (have since reduced to 3)
    Colour 0
    Tint 0
    Sharpness 6

    I haven't set any advanced settings yet so cant help you there. The room is pitch black when I watch movies and so these settings might no be of any use to you, sorry :)
     
  3. d0mj4y

    d0mj4y
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1
    Have you got AGC on? Colour management on?

    These could make a difference too i suppose?
     
  4. d0mj4y

    d0mj4y
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1
    Also, how and where do you get a DVE DVD?

    Cheers.
     
  5. matt bellamy

    matt bellamy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    both the colour management and AGC are off. I don't know what they do so left them as their default settings (maybe someone could tell me what they do and whether it's best to switch them on). I got the Digital video essentials disc from eBay but theres only NTSC versions on there now.
     
  6. d0mj4y

    d0mj4y
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1
    Fair enough.

    Have you got a DVD Rewriter or something so I could get a copy of it? :)

    Or is that wishful thinking? :)
     
  7. Nostromo426

    Nostromo426
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. d0mj4y

    d0mj4y
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just out of interest, when I use Sky+ and switch my plasma to NTSC mode, the picture flicks all over the screen. Is that because Sky doesn't deal with NTSC signal?
     

Share This Page

Loading...