1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Black bar on screen on 9527

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by greenthumb, Aug 13, 2002.

  1. greenthumb

    greenthumb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, Ive got a black vertical bar 2/3 to the right on my tv whenever i watch a scart source.
    I have a qed sqart fully wired cable so sheilding shouldnt be a problem.
    I only see it on dark scenes or when the screen is black.
    Watching 13 ghosts last night it became quite noticeable(dark film).
    Has this anything to do with poor internal sheilding or have I got a duff?
    It is evident on all scart sockets and the only way to rid it is turn the brightness/contrast right down to the point where i cant really see much else either.
    Has anyone else experienced this?
    Btw the bar is static.
    thanks
     
  2. Migueloncillo

    Migueloncillo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I watch the television by EXT 1 (DVD, RGB) or by EXT3 (digital satelite, RGB), only in the dark scenes, I see 2 vertical bars, one near the left side, an other just a few to the right of the middle line of the screen.

    It is a very little problem, because I must think in the two bars to see them y the dark scenes.
     
  3. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It could be the infamous "black bars" problem caused by Philips using Panasonic Tau tubes. In which case, it's normal.
     
  4. Migueloncillo

    Migueloncillo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 32pw9527 has a Philips tube ;)
     
  5. Zacabeb

    Zacabeb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    I think this is the case with all the Phips 100Hz sets based on the MG chassis. It seems like the blanking pulses for the output leaks into the input. At least on Philips sets they are static, unlike the infamous scrolling bars on the Sony sets...
     
  6. Migueloncillo

    Migueloncillo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. madhouse22

    madhouse22
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am so glad you posted this as I have had my TV for 3 weeks , I did concider sending it back as I thought it was a fault. Yes I also have the black vertical bars.

    Any luck with the picture as mine breaks up when watching Sky when there is quick movement?
     
  8. Gordon A

    Gordon A
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    I've also got two black bars on the 32PW9527, but they're only visible in very light scenes. 99% of the time they're not there, but on last night's Star Wars film (with some of the snow footage) they definitely were!

    Also, I've got a line running top to bottom approximately 1" or so from the left hand side. It's there all the time and again, is more prominent on lighter scenes. It appears as a thin 'brighter than the surrounding picture' line.

    Have only had the set since August but it's hard not to notice these lines once they're known about!
     
  9. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not a trace of black bar/s on my 32pw9527 I wonder if some sets have the mod already fitted.
     
  10. Migueloncillo

    Migueloncillo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is the web :

    Assistance Technique TV in France

    It´s a very good page.

    You can see the chasis of every TV set and his frecuents problems.

    The chasis of my 32pw9527 is the "EM5E".

    I hope the solution for the black bars soon.
     
  11. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    sorry to bring this page back.but i`ve just got the 32pw9576 & it has 2 dark bars on the screen & would just like to know if the ring around the wires worked & got rid of the dark bars.
     
  12. roboldham

    roboldham
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just briging this post to thr top.

    Anyone had this ring fitted ass suggested earlier on the French site?

    R
     
  13. greenthumb

    greenthumb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see that the chassis EM2E has the black bar problem documented and resolved on the french site.
    im sure the fault must be the same as it states that it occurs on peritel(scart) connections.
    There is a detailed solution with photos.
    Does anyone know what tv this chassis no. relates to?

    How did you find your chassis no.?

    btw i see the EM3E suffers from a similar problem only this chassis requires ferrite rings whereas the EM2E has a different fix for the same problem:confused:
     
  14. PaulJ

    PaulJ
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The engineer wrote my chassis no. down when he came to look at tv. I think it was just on the back of the tv.

    My chassis no. was SEM5E AA ?? I have the dark bar problem, and my tv already has the ferrite ring on.

    Im hoping to get a replacement, and see if it is any better.
     
  15. drummerboy

    drummerboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Leics
    Ratings:
    +5
    Anyone looked at here recently, (as originally posted by Migueloncillo).
    Its been updated.
    Looking at this section, it appears that there is a solution to a/the black bars problem posted for the MG3.x chassis (obviously of interest to owners of the 32PW9617), but not the EM5E as yet.
     
  16. greenthumb

    greenthumb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aha so the em3 is the 9617. i see the update was posted this month so maybe, just maybe we will see the 9527 fix very soon. Then we will only have to wait for the rest of the world to know about it and then finally Philips might swallow their pride and get their collective arses into gear and admit they are wrong!
     

Share This Page

Loading...