Bargain BK Monolith Plus amateur review

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by John Fulwood, Nov 29, 2018.

Tags:
  1. John Fulwood

John Fulwood
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    I posted a question on the forum a few weeks ago asking anyone if they could recommend the BK subs? I had read reviews, but most were quite old.
    Anyway, I did buy one, a white BK Monolith Plus for my home theatre. I'm no expert, but I have been into home cinema for some time. I moved house and have a large room for my system, its 34ft x 15ft, I sit about 20ft away from the white wall I project onto (135 inch picture) - yes, a normal matt white painted wall. The picture is great from my old In Focus IN76, but I am going to invest in a 4k projector next.
    I use a Yamaha 3040 amp, I have a pair of AE 109 in the front two channels and 7 B&W M1's performing the surround and presence. I had a Gale sub, but it did nothing in the room.
    Anyway, the BK. It's a great piece of kit. Plugged it in and went through the set-up as instructed in the Yamaha manual. Set the cross overs in the M1's and AE 109's.
    For music, it is subtle but deep. For movies, it's a game changer for the system, the soundtracks on action movies are simply awesome, it doesn't overpower or linger like I have heard in other systems, it feels very tight. As I say, I'm no expert, but it does feel as if my other speakers are performing better with the burden of bass being removed - that could be just me thinking it??
    I have had the pleasure of hearing many systems, I have heard better, but I have never heard better at anything like this price point.
    So, in summary, the thing is huge, it comes in a box that you'll struggle to get through the door - packed, it weighs well over 50kg. On that note, it comes very well packed and protected.
    Sound wise, I love it.