Biwire or Single wire for my system, please advise?

AudiobeginnerVN

Novice Member
Reaction score
Dear Brothers,
I ordered my system (Marantz ND 8006, Roksan Integrated Kandy K3, Tannoy Xt6f) from dealer and it's expected to arrive my home on this Saturday.

Could you plz advise me on these matters:
1. Whether I should do bi-wire or single wire for my system
2. If I do biwire, can I use such bi-wire cables to do single wire (in case I use such speaker cables for my bookshelf speakers which have only two terminals or I dont like biwire in the future)
3. Marantz ND 8006 has both cd playback and network modes but Intergrated Roksan K3 havent got Network Mode. I will use RCA interconnectors to connect ND8006 (audio out) to Kandy K3 (CD terminals in) and I can switch from CD player mode to Network on my ND8006 but I dont know whether Roksan K3 could... understand and play when I do this (as K3 hasn't got network mode).
I am sorry for my English and my inane question as I am just a beginner in this audio world.

Thanks,
David

single wire if using one amp

if you already have the cables you could try bi wire and see if you can hear the difference..

1) most people on here would suggest single wire but there are a few who disagree.
2) yes but it generally costs more money and you have to be careful you don't short circuit the wires
3) the output from the Marantz will be analog via the rca so it is just an electrical signal that the Roksan will play. Set the Roksan to CD input and play network or CD from the Marantz as you like

Single wire. Bi-wiring brings little if any benefit. Some speaker manufacturers put bi-wiring posts on their speakers more as a marketing ploy than something that will show any significant audio improvement to the speaker.

To improve a speakers abilities then bi-amping is by far the best way but again it does depend on the quality of that speaker as well.

hmmm....snake oil!