• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.
  • Black Friday Deals
    Visit our Black Friday page for our frequently updated, hand picked deals on TVs and other tech.

Bit of advice for a beginner..

Kendo76

Hi guys and gals

I'm new to this so please be gentle..

I've just taken delivery of a new Samsung LE32M61 telly and am disappointed with the sound coming out, it's no better than my 15 year old regular telly that it replaced. Picture is awesome though. I'm looking to start my home cinema sound setup (just have to clear it with the mrs, who won't be happy!)

I've read a few threads on here and am looking at buying the Denon AVR-1906 receiver from Empire Direct before the sale finishes, it looks great for the money and I'm not looking to spend too much.

My questions are.. Can I get the receiver and just have front left and right speakers to start with and then add centre + sub later on in the year, then even later put some rears on as well?

I can't afford the whole shebang so will be building it up over time. Will the receiver be ok with just the front speakers or is this a waste?

And lastly what do you think of the Denon 1906? I'm looking to spend around £200 - £300 and it's mainly for tv and movies. Lounge is 14' x 11' and looking to get bookshelf type speakers to sit on the floor, not too imposing looking.

I'd be grateful for any advice, I know you must be bored of beginners asking, but thanks in advance! :)

BenW

The problem with putting bookshelves on the floor is they're at the wrong height! Idealy you would have the tweeters at ear level. For this reason you should get some cheap stands to put them on.

clarky78

Yes you can add to it as you go. The reciever will probably have a 'Phantom' option to imitate the missing centre channel till you get one.