Answered Binding post problem.

gibbsy

Solutions
Reaction score
I have a Denon X6200 which, overall, I'm delighted with. However the right surround binding posts are proving problematic. I cannot get them to sustain a good connection by tightening with my fingers onto bare wire. Yet again this afternoon I've had to re-tighten them.

The question is would banana plugs resolve this or should I return it for a warranty repair. I've never used plugs before as I'm tight on rear space.

A good banana plug should remain secure once inserted. I'd still want to return the receiver under warranty for repair though.

I used to have that problem with my Yamaha but banana plugs worked a treat. I have plenty of open space at the back of my cab though.

A good banana plug should remain secure once inserted. I'd still want to return the receiver under warranty for repair though.
I've got 3 inches of space behind the posts and I have 14 guage wire. Should be enough room for standard plugs?

My wife has a theory. When first wiring up the 6200 I worked from outside in so by the time I tightened the front three my arthritic fingers were losing grip and I was giving myself less room to grip the posts, other wires getting in the way. Same happens now when I try to re-tighten, just can get a good grip with my fingers. As she helped me up from the floor she muttered old fart. Perhaps I should completely re-wire from inside out, or get plugs for the lot. Fisuals any good?

It was the Nakamichi ones I bought :smashin:

I've ordered 14 Fisual ones from Audio Visual. Managed to get a grip on the offending post, this time it was the negative, previously it was the possy. Worked perfectly all evening, about five hours viewing. Must be my fingers. Old age guys, old age.:(

@Marshall Mike I've got just over three inches to work with from the back of the posts. Do you think that is sufficient?