1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bigger hard-disc models in Autumn

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by StooMonster, Jul 26, 2004.

  1. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Will I be able to retro-fit bigger HD into existing Sky+ v2 box and not have all these horrible problems (e.g. 17 minute one) once they have an "official" product with more than 40GB available?

    (It's at that time of year with nothing to watch or record that it's a good time to swap the drive.)

    StooMonster
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    The latest update (1.28d) seems to have fixed the bugs with larger disks.
    The free space on mine is showing correctly now and I can't remember the last time I had a 17 minute fault.

    I suspect the only reason it was fixed is because of the imminent launch of Skys new box with larger disks - they will be able to flog these as upgrade options to those people who don't know how to or are reluctant to upgrade the disk in their existing box.
    Should prove to be a nice little earner for Sky.
     
  3. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Yes, heard about these new boxes (or same box with bigger disk).

    I think I may wait to see which drive they use and buy the same one off the shelf. :)

    StooMonster
     
  4. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I've had a 120GB disk in mine for about 6 months now and no problems at all.
    Since the latest update however, the fan is running continuously and won't stop.
    Tried a few reboots but no change :confused:
     
  5. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    :clown: "no problems at all" or "fan is running continuously and won't stop" which is it? Problem or not? ;)

    StooMonster
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    No problems at all for the last 6 months....
    Apart from locking up, freezing, 17 min fault, fan, etc. ;)

    Seriously, the problems I've had are exactly the same as I've seen on unmodified boxes.
    There is no way I'd go back to a paltry 40GB now - it's just too small (as the wife keeps telling me).
     

Share This Page

Loading...