Biamp with a 3803?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by RobDickinson, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. RobDickinson

    RobDickinson
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +748
    Considering the 3803 as a mid step between an ax3 and ax5 pio (dont need ilink esp).

    Doesnt look like it does it but any way to use those extra 2 channels with A/B speakers or multiroom stuff?

    Seems a waste to me if I dont use them for rear effects.

    Will be used 50/50 music movies with monitor audio silvers (s6i mains).
     
  2. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    No you can't assign them to the front channels for biamping (unfortuately).
     
  3. Electric Mayhem

    Electric Mayhem
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,938
    There's a way around it. This applies to the 3801/2/3 and A1SR (5803). Copied and pasted from this link.

    http://www.audioholics.com/productreviews/avhardware/Denon-AVR5803p4.html


    "After some thought, Denon tech support gave me the info on how to accomplish the bi-amping task. Here is how to do it. Note this will only work if you don't plan on using the amps for surround back channels or multi zone 2 applications.



    Bi-Amp Configuration of Main Channels

    Step #1: Connect a pair of analog RCA cables from the preamp outs of the “Front” channels to an unused input of the AVR-5803 (In my case, I chose VDP).

    Step #2: Select the chosen input as the source for Multi Zone 2.

    Step #3: In the Multi Zone Control menu, select power amp assignment for “Multi Zone 2”.

    Step #4: Using the internal test tones of the AVR-5803, position the SPL meter (slow response, C-weighted) at the listening position and increase the master volume control until each speaker reads about 75dB.

    Step #5: Disconnect the speaker level connections from the “Front” channels at the AVR-5803 and reconnect them to the appropriate “Multi Zone 2” speaker level connections.

    Step #6: Repeat Step#4 while varying the “Multi Zone 2” volume level. I found nearly unity gain correlation between the “Front” channel and “Multi Zone 2” amplifiers to be at the “Multi Zone 2” volume level setting of +2dB.

    Step #7: Remove the jumpers on the back of the main speakers (you would be amazed at how many people forget to do this, Yikes!)

    Step #8: Connect a set of wires from the “Front” channels of the receiver to the highs section of each of your front speakers and a set of wires from the “Multi Zone 2” channels of the receiver to the lows of your front speakers."
     
  4. Electric Mayhem

    Electric Mayhem
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,938
    Or you can just use the two Surround Back channels to power a pair of speakers in another room (multizone). :)
     
  5. RobDickinson

    RobDickinson
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Christchurch , New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +748
    Jase Thanks!

    I assume you've tried it? If so which (hi or low) split did you use for the analog passthrough? Theres no A/D D/A delays or anything?

    I'm used to mucking around with stuff like that and have a SPL meter ready so I'll give it a go.

    Multiroom isnt much of a use to me because of the setup in the house.

    Now may have to dem the AX3 and the 3803...
     
  6. Electric Mayhem

    Electric Mayhem
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,938
    Unfortunately not. My current Denon doesn't have the Power Amp Assignment feature and my speakers aren't bi-wire/amp-able or I'd have given it a go.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice