1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bi-Wiring - Speaker A + B

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by guyb, Jun 2, 2003.

1. guyb

guyb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi All

I have a question about bi-wiring. I have heard that it is possible to bi-wire your front speakers by connecting the front speakers to both Speaker A and Speaker B terminals of an AV receiver (such as Marantz SR7300) - is this possible and if so can someone tell me how to do it (i.e. which cables plug into which speaker terminals)

Thanks

Guy

2. Montana

Montana
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Guyb,
    Reading this post and being a newbie here, I was surprised that I might be able to help.I have one question for you first though.Can you have both your A and B speakers on at the same time ?
    If you can then first of all take the bridges off the terminals on the back of the speakers.Next there should be some markings saying which set of terminals are HF and LF(High Frequency and Low Frequency)on the speaker terminals, run one pair of speaker cables to the HF termainls and connect them to speaker set A on your AV amp/rec and then run another pair speaker cables from the LF connectors to speaker set B on your AMP, then repeat this for your other speaker.
    Just as aside note dont on one speaker run the HF to speaker A terminals and then on the other run the HF to speaker B terminals, seems to sound a little strange, it shouldn't but it seems to on mine, just keeps things the same.