1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bi-Wire Cable Question

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by TurnipFarmer, Mar 26, 2005.

  1. TurnipFarmer

    TurnipFarmer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have just got some speaker cable with banana plugs. 4 that go to the speaker which fit fine and 2 that go to the amp but me being stupid didnt relise that my amp does not allow the use of banana plugs, would I be able to cut these banana plugs off to use as bare wire?
     
  2. Londondecca

    Londondecca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +96
    Should not be a problem
     
  3. TurnipFarmer

    TurnipFarmer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    thanks for the help

    however before i do that, i need to find out if there is a way of connecting my marantz pm7200 using banana plugs that i havent worked out, see my other thread for that
     
  4. gerbilly

    gerbilly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +94
    Mate your Marrantz does accept Banana Plugs, I have the 4400 amp and with that if you get a needle and press gently into the speaker connections the small plastic bit in the centre should come off.
    Make sure it isnt plugged in first.
     
  5. TurnipFarmer

    TurnipFarmer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    thanks for your help

    you sure that the 4400 is the same as 7200?

    does it reveal a 4mm hole if i get the cap off?
     
  6. Wannabe-THX

    Wannabe-THX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Look at the binding posts. If they have what looks like a cover in the middle then try removing it with said pin.

    Fish
     
  7. TurnipFarmer

    TurnipFarmer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    just looked cant see anything like that, tried unscrewing the caps and they just get stuck so far. All mine seem to be is a cap stuck on a binding post that screws into the back of my amp, if anybody can send me a pic to show me how its done it would be great help
     
  8. Wannabe-THX

    Wannabe-THX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK just checked Marantz's website, and they describe the speaker terminals as screwed. Link

    [​IMG]

    Fish
     
  9. TurnipFarmer

    TurnipFarmer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks fish

    does that mean because they are screwed i cant use b-plugs?
     
  10. Wannabe-THX

    Wannabe-THX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You could use them if they fit in the holes on the binding posts, where the cable would go.

    Fish
     
  11. Warpaint

    Warpaint
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +61
    The PM7200 will definitely accept 4mm plugs. You will have to remove the black plastic plugs (caps) which are fitted in the end of the screw terminals. You can clearly see them in the picture above. They can be removed very easily with your fingernail or a penknife. Prise them out to reveal the 4mm socket.
     
  12. TurnipFarmer

    TurnipFarmer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    Il give it a blast, as long as i can put them back on if need be and it wont break me amp, are they only fitted onto the post and not glued or screwed on?

    i think i see what you guys mean now

    sorry for being such a idiot
     
  13. TurnipFarmer

    TurnipFarmer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    got it working i was looking at something completely different at the back, bet u guys were thinks that im well thick, when i worked out it was the black caps in the middle of speaker terminals i was like 'WHAT A DIV' lol

    anyway cheers for your help guys
     
  14. Warpaint

    Warpaint
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +61
    :smashin: Easy when you know how
     

Share This Page

Loading...