Bi-amping with integrated amps

lesg

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hello.

I have a Marantz CD52 MkII SE player and two marantz PM 6010 integrated amplifiers (which do not have pre-outs but can be used as a direct source ). My speakers are bi-wireable.

Is it possible to use this setup in some form of bi-amping arrangement without needing a power amp?

Thanks, Les G:confused:

Hi Les,

I'm no expert as I haven't bi-amped. However, I suspect you'll be able to do it by connecting cdp to amp 1 and connect amp 1 from the tape output to amp 2. Connect each amp to the treble and bass respectively. Only snag I see is you'll have to use both volume controls on the amps. As the amps are the same should be ok. However, cdp output is likely to be higher than tape output from amp 1. Try it and see. I don't think you can cause any damage by trying what I've suggested. Report back with your findings please.

Doesn't the OP need some kind of crossover in front of the amps?

Otherwise, he'll be sending a full-range signal to the tweeter, which may be disastrous....

Doesn't the OP need some kind of crossover in front of the amps?

Otherwise, he'll be sending a full-range signal to the tweeter, which may be disastrous....

It's an interesting point that you raise. As I say, I'm no expert on bi-amping. However, bi-wiring sends the same full frequency signal to the tweeter as well as the woofer. It is my understanding that the tweeter and woofer just get on with producing the frequencies they are capable of. I've never heard or read of the signal being frequency split before sending to the speakers via separate amps.

First, can we assume you are using the crossovers built into the speakers? That seems reasonable. If this is true, then it is no different than any other speaker, you send full range, and the passive crossovers in the speakers sort it out.

However, if you don't have pre-amp outputs on at least one of the amps, there is really no way to synchronize them.