Bi amping with 1066 power amp

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by Stereo Steve, Apr 21, 2004.

  1. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I just bought a Rotel 1066 6x60w power amp off the forums. I have also bought a RB-03 2x75w off ebay. These will replace my 1075, hopefully without costing me. I'm moving to a 6.1 setup and would have had to buy a mono amp anyway. So, I plan to use 4 channels on the 1066 to bi-amp my fronts and the remaining 2 for centre front and back. I will then use the RB-03 for my surrounds.

    How do I go about bi-amping in terms of connections? I've got one RCA socket for each front output on my processor so how do I split that across 2 inputs on the power amp?

    Cheers
     
  2. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    You get a split cable or a splitter. General Skanky had a split cable custom made for him when he had the same problem.

    I'm still not convinced biamping makes a difference though unless it is active. I think I hear a difference but it is subtle so without a blind test I can't be sure.
     
  3. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    My main reason for doing it is because it's a 6x60w amp and I have floorstanders at the front so I'm keen to give them a bit of extra muscle. Not sure it'll make a huge difference but it'll give me the 6 channels I'm after at hopefully no extra cost.

    I'm after an Arcam P7 long term so I see this as a short term solution.

    Any ideas where I can get such a splitter or cable?
     
  4. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    Splitter can be bought from Maplin or many other suppliers, I'd guess quality will vary quite a bit though which is probably why Guy went the custom route on the cable. Maybe ask on the DIY form, someone might be willing to make you a a pair of split cables.
     
  5. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    The Maplin one looks a bit naff. There must be a commercially available solution.
     
  6. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
  7. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,856
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    That would work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...