1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bi amping with 1066 power amp

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by Stereo Steve, Apr 21, 2004.

  1. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I just bought a Rotel 1066 6x60w power amp off the forums. I have also bought a RB-03 2x75w off ebay. These will replace my 1075, hopefully without costing me. I'm moving to a 6.1 setup and would have had to buy a mono amp anyway. So, I plan to use 4 channels on the 1066 to bi-amp my fronts and the remaining 2 for centre front and back. I will then use the RB-03 for my surrounds.

    How do I go about bi-amping in terms of connections? I've got one RCA socket for each front output on my processor so how do I split that across 2 inputs on the power amp?

    Cheers
     
  2. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    You get a split cable or a splitter. General Skanky had a split cable custom made for him when he had the same problem.

    I'm still not convinced biamping makes a difference though unless it is active. I think I hear a difference but it is subtle so without a blind test I can't be sure.
     
  3. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    My main reason for doing it is because it's a 6x60w amp and I have floorstanders at the front so I'm keen to give them a bit of extra muscle. Not sure it'll make a huge difference but it'll give me the 6 channels I'm after at hopefully no extra cost.

    I'm after an Arcam P7 long term so I see this as a short term solution.

    Any ideas where I can get such a splitter or cable?
     
  4. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Splitter can be bought from Maplin or many other suppliers, I'd guess quality will vary quite a bit though which is probably why Guy went the custom route on the cable. Maybe ask on the DIY form, someone might be willing to make you a a pair of split cables.
     
  5. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    The Maplin one looks a bit naff. There must be a commercially available solution.
     
  6. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
  7. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    That would work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...