1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bi Amp question

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by newbie265, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. newbie265

    newbie265
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sevenoaks are installing my system(below) on monday was wondering would it be better to bi amp the two channels not in use on the AVR300 to the fronts or bi amp using the P80?
     
  2. davehk

    davehk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    I'd suggest you initially try bi-amping with the P80 for the low end and the AVR for the high end. Then swap them over. Then try bi-wiring with the P80 only.

    And see which you prefer - the changes are only matter of moving the speaker connections at the amps so very easy to do.

    Then let us know the outcome as I'm looking at a similar set up (though with P90 rather than P80).
     
  3. barnythebear

    barnythebear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes would agree with davehk. The seperate power amp makes a difference.
     
  4. Hifi addict

    Hifi addict
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it also could well be that bi-amping with your AVR300 alone will give a much better integrated sound, then with 2 different amps
     
  5. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't bi-amp, but do use external amps to power my speakers (Alpha 10, Alpha 10P/3, Alpha 9). The sound quality is much better and I can drive my Dynaudios to considerably louder levels.

    It's not that the AVR300 amp section is bad, but you can get substantial improvement with high quality external amps, bi-amping or not.
     
  6. barnythebear

    barnythebear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Started off using the biamp option on the 300 but adding the P25/3 made a hell of a difference. Less work for the 300 to do seems to run cooler as a result.
     
  7. newbie265

    newbie265
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok cheers guys will experiment tommorrow. :thumbsup:
     
  8. newbie265

    newbie265
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rochester, Kent
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thats what the sevenoaks guys did and I'm more than happy with it.The cd73t sounds great. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...